EVH 5150 lll 1x12 Combo Sound Problem(?)
Follow us on...
Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Facebook Watch us on YouTube
Register
Likes Likes:  4
Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Little Dreamer

    Join Date
    01.13.18
    Age
    20
    Location
    Pikesville, MD
    Posts
    16
    Posts Per Day
    0.01
    Favorite VH Album

    5150
    Favorite VH Song

    Feelin'
    Last Online

    04.09.21 @ 07:06 AM
    Likes (Given)
    14
    Likes (Received)
    0
    Thanks (Given)
    0
    Thanks (Received)
    0

    Achievements:
    Veteran2,000 VHL Life Points

    Default EVH 5150 lll 1x12 Combo Sound Problem(?)

    Alright, I have come across a strange problem. I have been attempting to run my THR10X through my Combo’s effects return but i noticed that i lose the right side of the sound. I then plugged my pc and my phone into the effects return and the same thing. Every song/video i play, i only hear the left side and it sounds like part of the audio is missing.

    I have even adjusted my sliders on my pc and when i move the “Left” slider to zero, all sound goes away, but when i move the “Right” slider, virtually nothing happens.

    Is this natural with a 1x12 combo, or does anybody know a way to fix it?

  2. #2
    Forum Frontman
    Jedi McFly's Avatar
    Join Date
    05.29.03
    Age
    33
    Posts
    5,718
    Posts Per Day
    0.88
    Last Online

    Today @ 09:11 AM
    Likes (Given)
    693
    Likes (Received)
    1077
    Thanks (Given)
    3312
    Thanks (Received)
    3913


    Premium Member

    Donor

    Achievements:
    Master PraiserSupremely-LikedVHLinks Proud!50,000 VHL Life PointsKnight Of Da Roundtable

    Default

    If I’m understanding this correctly it doesn’t sound like a 5150iii problem, but really a THR10X problem.

    The 5150iii is a mono amp. If you’re missing stereo effects from the THR10X I would continue looking into how to sum that output signal to mono.

  3. joezlo Liked This Post
  4. #3
    Bullethead
    joezlo's Avatar
    Join Date
    01.10.12
    Location
    Jersey
    Posts
    463
    Posts Per Day
    0.14
    Favorite VH Album

    WACF
    Favorite VH Song

    As Is
    Last Online

    04.06.21 @ 07:28 AM
    Likes (Given)
    7
    Likes (Received)
    48
    Thanks (Given)
    86
    Thanks (Received)
    286

    Achievements:
    Padawan PraiserVeteranWell-Liked5,000 VHL Life Points

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Synyster5150 View Post
    Alright, I have come across a strange problem. I have been attempting to run my THR10X through my Combo’s effects return but i noticed that i lose the right side of the sound. I then plugged my pc and my phone into the effects return and the same thing. Every song/video i play, i only hear the left side and it sounds like part of the audio is missing.

    I have even adjusted my sliders on my pc and when i move the “Left” slider to zero, all sound goes away, but when i move the “Right” slider, virtually nothing happens.

    Is this natural with a 1x12 combo, or does anybody know a way to fix it?
    I concur with Jedi, the amp is a mono amp; you need to adjust your thr settings (if possible) to a mono output.

    Or get another 5150 and split the fx signal between 2 amps, but that just sounds too spinal tap of an answer.

  5. #4
    Little Dreamer

    Join Date
    01.13.18
    Age
    20
    Location
    Pikesville, MD
    Posts
    16
    Posts Per Day
    0.01
    Favorite VH Album

    5150
    Favorite VH Song

    Feelin'
    Last Online

    04.09.21 @ 07:06 AM
    Likes (Given)
    14
    Likes (Received)
    0
    Thanks (Given)
    0
    Thanks (Received)
    0

    Achievements:
    Veteran2,000 VHL Life Points

    Default EVH 5150 lll 1x12 Combo Sound Problem(?)

    Quote Originally Posted by Jedi McFly View Post
    If I’m understanding this correctly it doesn’t sound like a 5150iii problem, but really a THR10X problem.

    The 5150iii is a mono amp. If you’re missing stereo effects from the THR10X I would continue looking into how to sum that output signal to mono.
    But its strange because it happens when i plug my pc into my combo too. I can adjust the left slider, and all the sound goes away. But when i adjust the right slider, nothing happens.

  6. #5
    The Full Bug
    nobozos's Avatar
    Join Date
    02.16.00
    Location
    U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,886
    Posts Per Day
    0.24
    Last Online

    Today @ 09:15 AM
    Likes (Given)
    2
    Likes (Received)
    43
    Thanks (Given)
    28
    Thanks (Received)
    733

    Achievements:
    Well-Liked25,000 VHL Life PointsThee King

    Default

    You will encounter the same problem with any stereo output you try to plug into a mono input. If you look at a headphone plug, you will see it has two black stipes around it. If you look at an instrument cable, you will see it has one black stripe around it. That is because in the jack of a mono input, there are only two contacts that touch the metal on either side of that stripe (tip and ring). On a stereo jack, you have three metal contacts that touch each of the three metal pieces of the plug that are separated by the black stripes, giving you stereo (ground, left channel, right channel)

    Even if you have a stereo plug pushed into a mono input, the jack still only has two contacts, and will only pass one channel through your mono input of your effects return. This will happen regardless of what stereo input you try to plug into your effects return. I would suspect on any amplifier, the effects return is going to have a Mono jack, even on a stereo amp.
    "Having an opinion that people disagree with doesn't make you a Douche, arguing with the people who disagree with your opinion and calling them stupid does!" -Me.

  7. Synyster5150, Jedi McFly Liked This Post
  8. #6
    Little Dreamer

    Join Date
    01.13.18
    Age
    20
    Location
    Pikesville, MD
    Posts
    16
    Posts Per Day
    0.01
    Favorite VH Album

    5150
    Favorite VH Song

    Feelin'
    Last Online

    04.09.21 @ 07:06 AM
    Likes (Given)
    14
    Likes (Received)
    0
    Thanks (Given)
    0
    Thanks (Received)
    0

    Achievements:
    Veteran2,000 VHL Life Points

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by nobozos View Post
    You will encounter the same problem with any stereo output you try to plug into a mono input. If you look at a headphone plug, you will see it has two black stipes around it. If you look at an instrument cable, you will see it has one black stripe around it. That is because in the jack of a mono input, there are only two contacts that touch the metal on either side of that stripe (tip and ring). On a stereo jack, you have three metal contacts that touch each of the three metal pieces of the plug that are separated by the black stripes, giving you stereo (ground, left channel, right channel)

    Even if you have a stereo plug pushed into a mono input, the jack still only has two contacts, and will only pass one channel through your mono input of your effects return. This will happen regardless of what stereo input you try to plug into your effects return. I would suspect on any amplifier, the effects return is going to have a Mono jack, even on a stereo amp.
    Yeah it’s funny. When i have my THR10X running from it’s “headphones out” into my Effects Return of the combo, if the plug is all the way on, i lose the right, but if i pull it out to the first line, i gain the right but lose the left, that must be happening.

  9. #7
    The Full Bug
    nobozos's Avatar
    Join Date
    02.16.00
    Location
    U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,886
    Posts Per Day
    0.24
    Last Online

    Today @ 09:15 AM
    Likes (Given)
    2
    Likes (Received)
    43
    Thanks (Given)
    28
    Thanks (Received)
    733

    Achievements:
    Well-Liked25,000 VHL Life PointsThee King

    Default

    Yes, that is what is happening. Depending on how far you have the plug inserted, one of the three isolated metal pieces of the stereo plug is making contact with the two metal contacts of the jack, giving you either right or left, depending on which piece of the plug one of the tow contacts is touching.
    "Having an opinion that people disagree with doesn't make you a Douche, arguing with the people who disagree with your opinion and calling them stupid does!" -Me.

  10. #8
    Little Dreamer

    Join Date
    01.13.18
    Age
    20
    Location
    Pikesville, MD
    Posts
    16
    Posts Per Day
    0.01
    Favorite VH Album

    5150
    Favorite VH Song

    Feelin'
    Last Online

    04.09.21 @ 07:06 AM
    Likes (Given)
    14
    Likes (Received)
    0
    Thanks (Given)
    0
    Thanks (Received)
    0

    Achievements:
    Veteran2,000 VHL Life Points

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by nobozos View Post
    Yes, that is what is happening. Depending on how far you have the plug inserted, one of the three isolated metal pieces of the stereo plug is making contact with the two metal contacts of the jack, giving you either right or left, depending on which piece of the plug one of the tow contacts is touching.
    So in order to, run Bias FX 2 software through my 5150, id need another combo to split the signal?

  11. #9
    The Full Bug
    nobozos's Avatar
    Join Date
    02.16.00
    Location
    U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,886
    Posts Per Day
    0.24
    Last Online

    Today @ 09:15 AM
    Likes (Given)
    2
    Likes (Received)
    43
    Thanks (Given)
    28
    Thanks (Received)
    733

    Achievements:
    Well-Liked25,000 VHL Life PointsThee King

    Default

    Yes, either that or put your software into mono output mode. Is it important to you to get the tone of the 5150 power section, or are you just wanting to boost the volume?
    "Having an opinion that people disagree with doesn't make you a Douche, arguing with the people who disagree with your opinion and calling them stupid does!" -Me.

  12. #10
    Bullethead

    Join Date
    10.22.07
    Posts
    346
    Posts Per Day
    0.07
    Last Online

    04.10.21 @ 10:32 AM
    Likes (Given)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    65
    Thanks (Given)
    0
    Thanks (Received)
    0

    Achievements:
    5,000 VHL Life PointsOld Guard

    Default

    Listen, the computer domain and the guitar amp domain are two completely different worlds. I would honestly suggest selling your guitar amps and buying two monitors like Yamahas HS5 and use a cabinet simulator in your daw if you want to run biasFX. It will save you hours and hours of problems. I know you are trying to do the stereo detune thing like Eddie but you can’t really accomplish it by patching things together, there is a method to the madness. Your half in between the mono analog realm and the digital stereo realm, you need to choose which paradigm you are going to go with.

    If I was going to do stereo detune with your setup, it would take some money because I would buy a interface and two monitors. That way you could use your 5150 preamp out to the computer and you would get your harmonics back. Then you could use an cabinet sim on that channel, add your left right detune effects and call it a day. I would ditch your Yamaha stereo box because it seems to be doing more harm then good. At the end of the day, you need computer speakers to have the sound coming out and not the amps.

    Basically you need to buy computer speakers or monitors.

  13. #11
    Little Dreamer

    Join Date
    01.13.18
    Age
    20
    Location
    Pikesville, MD
    Posts
    16
    Posts Per Day
    0.01
    Favorite VH Album

    5150
    Favorite VH Song

    Feelin'
    Last Online

    04.09.21 @ 07:06 AM
    Likes (Given)
    14
    Likes (Received)
    0
    Thanks (Given)
    0
    Thanks (Received)
    0

    Achievements:
    Veteran2,000 VHL Life Points

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by iplayguitaralot View Post
    Listen, the computer domain and the guitar amp domain are two completely different worlds. I would honestly suggest selling your guitar amps and buying two monitors like Yamahas HS5 and use a cabinet simulator in your daw if you want to run biasFX. It will save you hours and hours of problems. I know you are trying to do the stereo detune thing like Eddie but you can’t really accomplish it by patching things together, there is a method to the madness. Your half in between the mono analog realm and the digital stereo realm, you need to choose which paradigm you are going to go with.

    If I was going to do stereo detune with your setup, it would take some money because I would buy a interface and two monitors. That way you could use your 5150 preamp out to the computer and you would get your harmonics back. Then you could use an cabinet sim on that channel, add your left right detune effects and call it a day. I would ditch your Yamaha stereo box because it seems to be doing more harm then good. At the end of the day, you need computer speakers to have the sound coming out and not the amps.

    Basically you need to buy computer speakers or monitors.
    This has nothing to do with the Balance tone i was trying to achieve.

    I was more looking for a way to play music(like albums and the such) through my Combo as a speaker for the loudness it has.

    The THR10X does stereo with two seperate speakers so theres no need to buy two monitors.

  14. #12
    Bullethead

    Join Date
    10.22.07
    Posts
    346
    Posts Per Day
    0.07
    Last Online

    04.10.21 @ 10:32 AM
    Likes (Given)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    65
    Thanks (Given)
    0
    Thanks (Received)
    0

    Achievements:
    5,000 VHL Life PointsOld Guard

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Synyster5150 View Post
    This has nothing to do with the Balance tone i was trying to achieve.

    I was more looking for a way to play music(like albums and the such) through my Combo as a speaker for the loudness it has.

    The THR10X does stereo with two seperate speakers so theres no need to buy two monitors.
    My apologies, as the other posters have mentioned summing to mono through your daw or some other method will probably work.

  15. Synyster5150 Liked This Post
  16. #13
    The Full Bug
    nobozos's Avatar
    Join Date
    02.16.00
    Location
    U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,886
    Posts Per Day
    0.24
    Last Online

    Today @ 09:15 AM
    Likes (Given)
    2
    Likes (Received)
    43
    Thanks (Given)
    28
    Thanks (Received)
    733

    Achievements:
    Well-Liked25,000 VHL Life PointsThee King

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Synyster5150 View Post
    This has nothing to do with the Balance tone i was trying to achieve.

    I was more looking for a way to play music(like albums and the such) through my Combo as a speaker for the loudness it has.

    The THR10X does stereo with two seperate speakers so theres no need to buy two monitors.
    That is kind of what I suspected. To do what you want to do with an amplifier, you would need something like a Boss Katana 100 212, that has a stereo aux input. This would give you true stereo at the volumes you are looking for, as well as the ability to play along with it if you want. In addition, you would have a much cleaner reproduction of the input without coloring the sound with the power tubes.
    "Having an opinion that people disagree with doesn't make you a Douche, arguing with the people who disagree with your opinion and calling them stupid does!" -Me.

 

 

Similar Threads

  1. Attn. 5150 111 1x12 combo owners....
    By Jps5150 in forum Guitar Room
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03.24.15, 01:50 AM
  2. 5150 combo problem.
    By bcgvh in forum Guitar Room
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02.22.07, 12:52 PM
  3. 5150 Combo problem updates, need advice
    By Dave King in forum Guitar Room
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 02.28.05, 06:15 PM
  4. 5150 combo problem
    By Dave King in forum Guitar Room
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02.23.05, 04:15 PM
  5. 5150 combo hiss problem
    By rolsguitars in forum Guitar Room
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10.15.02, 09:30 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •