How to record guitar on the computer??
Follow us on...
Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Facebook Watch us on YouTube
Register
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    Bullethead
    spw5150's Avatar
    Join Date
    07.15.04
    Location
    Florence KY
    Posts
    373
    Posts Per Day
    0.06
    Favorite VH Album

    All of Them
    Last Online

    02.22.14 @ 05:30 PM
    Likes (Given)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    0
    Thanks (Given)
    0
    Thanks (Received)
    0

    Default How to record guitar on the computer??

    I have an old version of Cakewalk Pro Audio and would like to record guitar and bass. I am very novice and need some help. I have the adapter to play thru my amp and into my computer, however, I can't figure out how to record?? Do I need different software and/or other equipment??

  2. #2
    Big Bad Bill
    guitar08man's Avatar
    Join Date
    05.16.03
    Age
    31
    Posts
    1,130
    Posts Per Day
    0.17
    Last Online

    07.20.14 @ 01:40 AM
    Likes (Given)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    0
    Thanks (Given)
    0
    Thanks (Received)
    0

    Default

    forget using your amp, recording direct from the line out in most cases (unless you have a good cabinet simulator will sound like complete ass).

    Id get a line 6 tone port. Ive used a guitar port (the guitar only, instrument/usb interface that line 6 makes) to record all of my guitar parts on my songs.

    if you want to hear some examples visit www.soundclick.com/patricklukens or www.myspace.com/patricklukens

    if you do it right you can get it to sound as good, if not better than micing your own amp.

  3. #3
    Top Of The World
    Rokgtar's Avatar
    Join Date
    11.14.99
    Posts
    4,186
    Posts Per Day
    0.53
    Last Online

    Today @ 02:56 PM
    Likes (Given)
    257
    Likes (Received)
    305
    Thanks (Given)
    1325
    Thanks (Received)
    1660

    Achievements:
    Master PraiserVHLinks Proud!25,000 VHL Life PointsThee KingSupremely-Liked

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by guitar08man View Post
    forget using your amp, recording direct from the line out in most cases (unless you have a good cabinet simulator will sound like complete ass).

    Id get a line 6 tone port. Ive used a guitar port (the guitar only, instrument/usb interface that line 6 makes) to record all of my guitar parts on my songs.

    if you want to hear some examples visit www.soundclick.com/patricklukens or www.myspace.com/patricklukens

    if you do it right you can get it to sound as good, if not better than micing your own amp.
    He's right. I use a Line 6 Pod XT - it is usb into the pc, the thing is nothing short of amazing! I use Cubase for recording software; it uses the Line 6 ASIO driver to interface with it. I bought the Line 6 Riff Tracker plug in as well, to get some easy drum loops. I love it... It's a real treat to be able to record anything I want inside of my headphones late at night (without disturbing a soul)...

  4. #4
    Hot For Teacher
    BREW CREW's Avatar
    Join Date
    02.09.00
    Age
    49
    Posts
    12,992
    Posts Per Day
    1.67
    Favorite VH Album

    Van Halen 1
    Favorite VH Song

    Somebody Get Me A Doctor
    Last Online

    11.03.20 @ 08:22 PM
    Likes (Given)
    44
    Likes (Received)
    167
    Thanks (Given)
    222
    Thanks (Received)
    914

    Achievements:
    Padawan PraiserWell-LikedVHLinks Proud!75,000 VHL Life PointsThee King

    Default

    Bump!

    Just wondering what guitar08man and others are using to record on the computer with now...anything new?
    Just go for it!

  5. #5
    Sinner's Swing!
    Lightning Fingers's Avatar
    Join Date
    03.20.03
    Age
    51
    Location
    I AM CANADIAN!!!
    Posts
    986
    Posts Per Day
    0.15
    Favorite VH Album

    Alright, I admit - All of them
    Favorite VH Song

    Almost all of them
    Last Online

    03.01.12 @ 05:52 PM
    Likes (Given)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    0
    Thanks (Given)
    0
    Thanks (Received)
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by spw5150 View Post
    I have an old version of Cakewalk Pro Audio and would like to record guitar and bass. I am very novice and need some help. I have the adapter to play thru my amp and into my computer, however, I can't figure out how to record?? Do I need different software and/or other equipment??
    Go to your Control Panel and/or sound mixing software that came with your soundcard and enable the source you are recording, i.e., line in, aux, or microphone.
    Homer: No one snuggles with Max Power. Just strap on and feel the Gs!

    American Coast Guard: Back off Canadians we got them.
    Canadian Coast Guard: You back off hosers, they are in Canadian waters, eh.
    American Coast Guard: Beat it you puck smacking maple suckers!
    Canadian Coast Guard: Take a hike you Shatner stealing Mexico touchers!

    Bart: Who the hell is this?
    Jack Bauer: I’m Jack Bauer, who the hell is this?
    Bart: Me, er… I’m Ahmed Adudi
    Jack: Chloe, get me all you can on Ahmed Adudi… Does anyone there know Ahmed Adudi?
    Chloe O’Brien: Ahmed Adudi; wealthy Saudi financier… Disappeared into Afghanistan in the late 90s…
    Jack: … Really?
    Chloe (ironically): No Jack it’s a joke name, you’re being set up.
    Jack: DAMMIT!

  6. #6
    Big Bad Bill
    guitar08man's Avatar
    Join Date
    05.16.03
    Age
    31
    Posts
    1,130
    Posts Per Day
    0.17
    Last Online

    07.20.14 @ 01:40 AM
    Likes (Given)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    0
    Thanks (Given)
    0
    Thanks (Received)
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BREW CREW View Post
    Bump!

    Just wondering what guitar08man and others are using to record on the computer with now...anything new?
    line 6 toneport for an audio interface, and cubase se.

  7. #7
    I'm The One
    Rick S's Avatar
    Join Date
    09.29.99
    Location
    Wilmington ,Delaware
    Posts
    3,128
    Posts Per Day
    0.39
    Favorite VH Album

    fair warning
    Favorite VH Song

    mean street
    Last Online

    06.23.17 @ 09:49 PM
    Likes (Given)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    0
    Thanks (Given)
    0
    Thanks (Received)
    2

    Default

    im still using my pod xt into my mac with garageband 1.1 .
    www.rickshick.tumblr.com

    1love4chi

    Deftones , now and forever and only second to VH.

    Dave or Sammy ?.........pffffft Eddie.

  8. #8
    Bullethead
    spw5150's Avatar
    Join Date
    07.15.04
    Location
    Florence KY
    Posts
    373
    Posts Per Day
    0.06
    Favorite VH Album

    All of Them
    Last Online

    02.22.14 @ 05:30 PM
    Likes (Given)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    0
    Thanks (Given)
    0
    Thanks (Received)
    0

    Default

    I bought the line 6 toneport and use Reaper recording software ( Free version) it has worked out great. Would recommend the toneport for anyone looking to start recording, can't beat the price ($130). I have uploaded some recordings to a myspace page : www.myspace.com/kruzad . I am able to record a digital drum pad with preprogrammed beats. I also recorded bass and guitar. Check it out.

  9. #9
    Light Up The Sky
    MF5150's Avatar
    Join Date
    06.05.04
    Age
    32
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    21,482
    Posts Per Day
    3.45
    Favorite VH Album

    WACF
    Favorite VH Song

    Me Wise Magic/Seventh Seal
    Last Online

    Today @ 03:03 PM
    Likes (Given)
    2437
    Likes (Received)
    1617
    Thanks (Given)
    1201
    Thanks (Received)
    1150

    Achievements:
    Master PraiserElite Daily PosterVHLinks Proud!Knight Of Da RoundtableSupremely-Liked75,000 VHL Life Points

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by guitar08man View Post
    forget using your amp, recording direct from the line out in most cases (unless you have a good cabinet simulator will sound like complete ass).

    Id get a line 6 tone port. Ive used a guitar port (the guitar only, instrument/usb interface that line 6 makes) to record all of my guitar parts on my songs.

    if you want to hear some examples visit www.soundclick.com/patricklukens or www.myspace.com/patricklukens

    if you do it right you can get it to sound as good, if not better than micing your own amp.
    So how do you know what the guitar sounds like while you play if there is no amp? I am also very novice when it comes to recording.

    By the way...Timebomb...blows me away every time I hear it lol.

    and yeah, "Come join our band please". Take a flight up to Toronto...lol
    My man, when you are fantasizing, don't go for attainable, you can get attainable at the local Applebee's. - Dave's Dreidel

  10. #10
    Top Of The World

    Join Date
    01.30.04
    Posts
    3,603
    Posts Per Day
    0.57
    Last Online

    10.11.20 @ 02:55 PM
    Likes (Given)
    1
    Likes (Received)
    30
    Thanks (Given)
    67
    Thanks (Received)
    2997

    Achievements:
    Padawan PraiserSupremely-LikedVHLinks Proud!25,000 VHL Life PointsKnight Of Da Roundtable

    Default

    My set-up is pretty basic, but very cheap and user friendly:

    Sony Acid Music Studio ($69.99)
    SoundTech LightSnake ($39.99)
    DigiTech Grunge Distortion ($39.99)

    The software comes with 1700 drum/bass/synth loops, and unlimited tracks. The guitar effects sound great, with the exception of the distortion, hence the need for the Digitech pedal. After you finish a demo, you can either put it on your acidplanet.com page, send as an mp3, or burn to a CD... The LightSnake has a splitter on the guitar end, so you can run a line to your amp and monitor your playing in real time.

    Here are some examples:
    http://www.acidplanet.com/artist.asp?AID=570202
    Then just click on "Songs"
    "8 Years Too Long" and "1 Minute of Grunge" were recorded the the Digitech pedal, so they sound a little better than the others. I was using the line-out on my amp on the other 4 demo's, but it just didn't sound that great.

    ~Peace

  11. #11
    Eruption

    Join Date
    07.25.04
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    277
    Posts Per Day
    0.04
    Favorite VH Album

    Fair Warning
    Favorite VH Song

    Hear About It Later
    Last Online

    12.20.19 @ 03:38 AM
    Likes (Given)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    0
    Thanks (Given)
    0
    Thanks (Received)
    1

    Default

    I just use a Line 6 Guitarport and record to Cubase. Not the greatest, but the tones on the Guitarport are actually quite good.

  12. #12
    Hot For Teacher
    BREW CREW's Avatar
    Join Date
    02.09.00
    Age
    49
    Posts
    12,992
    Posts Per Day
    1.67
    Favorite VH Album

    Van Halen 1
    Favorite VH Song

    Somebody Get Me A Doctor
    Last Online

    11.03.20 @ 08:22 PM
    Likes (Given)
    44
    Likes (Received)
    167
    Thanks (Given)
    222
    Thanks (Received)
    914

    Achievements:
    Padawan PraiserWell-LikedVHLinks Proud!75,000 VHL Life PointsThee King

    Default

    I have read some reviews on the Line6 port and some people complained about noise. Have any of you guys that use it have that problem?

    Also, I am looking in to getting the fruity loops program...does anyone have any experience with this? It looks like it can do a shitload of things that I am looking for.
    Just go for it!

  13. #13
    Eruption

    Join Date
    07.25.04
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    277
    Posts Per Day
    0.04
    Favorite VH Album

    Fair Warning
    Favorite VH Song

    Hear About It Later
    Last Online

    12.20.19 @ 03:38 AM
    Likes (Given)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    0
    Thanks (Given)
    0
    Thanks (Received)
    1

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BREW CREW View Post
    I have read some reviews on the Line6 port and some people complained about noise. Have any of you guys that use it have that problem?

    Also, I am looking in to getting the fruity loops program...does anyone have any experience with this? It looks like it can do a shitload of things that I am looking for.
    One feature of the Guitarport is the Hum Eliminator. It works very well, especially if you're using lots of gain on your amp models. I use Fruity Loops. It took me a while to get onto it, but after you've learned how to use it, it works great IMO. I just create very basic drum patterns to put my guitar work to, and when I'm done I send it to my friend who is a drummer/sound engineer, and he puts good drum tracks on it for me.

  14. #14
    Top Of The World
    Mikey Metalhead's Avatar
    Join Date
    01.25.00
    Age
    57
    Location
    Tx
    Posts
    4,125
    Posts Per Day
    0.53
    Favorite VH Album

    wACF
    Favorite VH Song

    Romeo delight
    Last Online

    06.15.21 @ 09:42 AM
    Likes (Given)
    1
    Likes (Received)
    52
    Thanks (Given)
    5
    Thanks (Received)
    32


    Donor

    Achievements:
    VHLinks Proud!25,000 VHL Life PointsThee KingPic Poster

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BREW CREW View Post
    I have read some reviews on the Line6 port and some people complained about noise. Have any of you guys that use it have that problem?

    Also, I am looking in to getting the fruity loops program...does anyone have any experience with this? It looks like it can do a shitload of things that I am looking for.
    fruity loops is now FLstudios.

    I love it as a sequencer, but I record to a stand alone workstation.
    so I am not sure what it can do with the actual guitar parts.
    I still mic everything with sm57's. I just dont like the synthetic sound of direct recording, althought line6 absolutely is the best at what it does, I still like tubes and speakers.
    I SURVIVED TEXAS LINKERS WEEKEND I, II, III, IV and VI and VII.barely made it to VIII time to slow down
    I musta had a broken middle finger for V
    http://www.youtube.com/user/daneph

 

 

Similar Threads

  1. Guitar + Computer + POD
    By Lodewijk5150 in forum Guitar Room
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 11.08.06, 12:31 AM
  2. Help Me Buy A Computer
    By willy4pres in forum VH Fans Meeting Place (Non-Music)
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 08.24.06, 08:21 AM
  3. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08.10.06, 04:50 AM
  4. Recording guitar & vocals to computer using USB port
    By yomamasofat in forum Guitar Room
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01.06.06, 02:02 PM
  5. I need a new computer
    By lawchick in forum VH Fans Meeting Place (Non-Music)
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 08.15.01, 06:33 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •