Follow us on...
Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Facebook Watch us on YouTube
Register
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Last Online

02.13.15 @ 08:56 AM
    Liked 8 Times in 1 Post

Donor

Hey guys, I'm pretty new to the CD burning thing so excuse me if this is a stupid question. If I burn a certain CD many times on different occasions, will it make any difference to the quality of the original CD that I'm burning from? Thanks. I think this is the right forum for this question.

Favorite VH Album

Fair Warning
    Favorite VH Song

Me Wise Magic
    Last Online

12.11.17 @ 05:34 PM
    Liked 65 Times in 36 Posts

Premium Member
    Nope, cd's are 'read' by a laser, not by a head or a stylus, like tapes or vynal. Since theres no physical contact, they wont wear at all. Also theres no 'generational' losses (as a rule, unless someones made a shoddy copy)... that is, a copy of a copy of a copy of a copy.. pretty much sounds the same as the origional, no hisses etc

Just for reference, a few things to watch when burning cds to trade

-Dont burn too quick, I usually do mine at 2x speed, although my burner can do 4x... if you burn too quick you'll get tiny pops on the copy. this is kinda reliant on your pc/burner combo though, so experiment, but listen for pops on the copy

-burn 'disc at once' and make sure theres no gaps between tracks - on live albums this break between tracks is a nono, youll hear the audience noise broken by a 2 second 'lead-in' silence

------------------
    A little zen... Headed your way...

Last Online

12.03.17 @ 09:00 PM
    Liked 537 Times in 291 Posts

Premium Member