Favorite VH Album

All of them!
    Favorite VH Song

Unchained/ Best of Both Worlds
    Last Online

04.08.16 @ 04:20 PM
    Liked 12 Times in 8 Posts

Default Combating String Noise

I am really struggling with open string noise while playing licks on the G-E string. I really struggle with this and I've been playing for 30 yrs. I've really noticed it a lot lately for some reason. I just don't understand how Ed can control string noise while playing with that gain and at concert levels? I know guys in the studio put tape on strings that aren't getting played for leads and I've seen devices of some kind on Michael Batio's guitar that fan off the nut.

I just can't get it as clean as I want. Obviously turning the gain way down helps but then I'm not getting the tone I like. It's just a battle. When I lay more palm on it then it's too muted.

Any tips or techniques anyone can pass along?

Favorite VH Album

VH1
    Favorite VH Song

When It's Love
    Last Online

12.10.17 @ 12:30 PM
    Liked 15 Times in 12 Posts

Hair band all the way down by the nut works good

Hot For Teacher
    Favorite VH Album

Fair Warning
    Favorite VH Song

Cant pick 1!
    Last Online

08.27.17 @ 03:51 PM
    Liked 96 Times in 77 Posts

Or get a bud to mute like DLR did for Vai.

Atomic Punk Get The Show On The Road's Avatar
    Favorite VH Album

Van Halen
    Favorite VH Song

I'm The One
    Last Online

12.10.17 @ 09:21 PM
    Liked 10,811 Times in 5,684 Posts

Premium Member

Quote Originally Posted by smme5150 View Post