Follow us on...
Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Facebook Watch us on YouTube
Register
    Favorite VH Album

Last Online

12.05.17 @ 03:19 AM
    Liked 49 Times in 30 Posts

Default EVH Phase 90 tone problems...

I've been working on building up a pedalboard for a couple of years now, and I'm almost done - just ordered a Wampler Pinnacle to complete the setup. But I'm having a slight issue with my EVH Phase 90. I bought it used at the Sam Ash on 34th St in NYC a bit over a year ago, but when I got it home, I made the blunder of plugging the wrong polarity power supply into it. Of course, I got the scent of frying chips. I sent it off to a mail order repair place and they seemed to do what was necessary to get it up and running again.

Anyway, it's mostly been unused since then, but now it's part of the pedal board and I'm noticing that when it's engaged, some of the low end seems to drop out of the tone, along with a slight drop in level. It's not too bad with a high gain tone, but with medium gain and clean sounds, the loss of guts is more noticeable. When bypassed, there's no loss in tone.

Has anyone else had this with the EVH Phase 90? Might the fry-and-repair done more damage than I thought? Also, I know there's a trim pot inside for setting voltage bias - might that have got knocked off kilter?

Any thoughts would be welcome.
    HERE AND GONE by Haylen Beck (Stuart Neville writing as...) - "It doesn't get better than this." - Lee Child, "Highly recommended." - Harlan Coben, "Cancel all your plans and settle in for the ride." - Ruth Ware, "This is a book that lives up to the buzz." - Alafair Burke

Summer 2017 UK & North America

Favorite VH Album

Van Halen I & Balance
    Favorite VH Song

I'm the One & Feelin'
    Last Online

11.10.17 @ 05:45 AM
    Liked 267 Times in 150 Posts

Quote Originally Posted by Charvel2 View Post