Balance
    Favorite VH Song

Aint Talkin Bout Love
    Last Online

12.15.17 @ 02:18 PM
    Liked 461 Times in 200 Posts

Default 5150 combo power scaling question

Guys,

quick question..... is it a fair statement to say that on the 5150 III combo amps that if you are playing at a low volume like say 2 or 3 the power scaling knob should also be set on 2 or 3? I am new to using this thing and was curious to keep the sound authentic when playing at low volumes (a la apartment setting) the power scale knob should be set on the same level as the volume of the channel your playing on? yes... no? please explain.

Rob

Good Enough
    Favorite VH Album

Favorite VH Song

the one Ed plays guitar on
    Last Online

12.14.17 @ 03:08 PM
    Liked 784 Times in 422 Posts

Granted, my only experience with power scaling is a push button on my Marshall TSL100 that drops the output from 100W to 25W, BUT...

From my understanding, I really don't think this is absolutely necessary, Rob. I'm pretty sure what you are doing in the example above is simply playing your EVHIII at a volume level of "3" on what is effectively a lower wattage amp. As an example, "IF" the power scaling is on a linear scale (which I doubt it is), the "3" setting on the power scaling would in effect make it a 15W amp.

Supposedly, the power scaling on the EVHIII does not affect tone, so you should be able to crank that volume knob up to your tonal preference, and then bring the db level back down to bedroom levels with the power scaling. Basically, you'd be using the power scaling knob as a built-in attenuator.

Then again, I have yet to even SEE an EVHIII combo in person, so I'm not speaking from hands-on experience, either.

Favorite VH Album

VH, 1984, 5150, F.U.C.K.
    Favorite VH Song

A few of Daves, a few of Sams!
    Last Online

12.15.17 @ 11:34 PM
    Liked 6,973 Times in 5,009 Posts

Premium Member

Great question and a great answer!