Favorite VH Album

Favorite VH Song

Panama
    Last Online

12.10.17 @ 01:20 AM
    Liked 131 Times in 78 Posts

Default Gear noob in need of advice

Hey guys,
    I figured this would be a good place to get some opinions since it's a safe bet that a lot of us play similar stuff. So I'm pretty much a noob when it comes to gear. I started playing six years ago with one of those Squier starter sets with a cheap Strat and a 15-Watt amp, and later I added an Epiphone Les Paul 100, a Line 6 Spider IV 30 amp, and a Digitech RP255 multi-effects pedal. Everything I mentioned above is everything I currently own. At first they all sounded good to my then-untrained ears, and now they all sound awful. Now I'm looking to upgrade, but I can't afford top-of-the-line all-new everything. Here's everything I can think of that would be of help in helping me:

- Effects aren't very important right now. I'm not proficient enough to record or be in a band, and I honestly don't know what to do with effects. But if there's anything you really like using that you want to suggest, by all means do it.

- I'm not strict on buying new. I'm actually leaning toward buying used to save money (unless that's a bad idea). My budget might be around $500 USD (maybe 600) or less for each item.

- Ideally, I'd like a guitar with a tremolo bar and a humbucker in the bridge position. I'd like for the pickup(s) to not have a "muddy" tone and have a decent amount of output.

- The vast majority of the music I play consists of hard rock and heavy metal from the 70's and 80's (VH, KISS, Zeppelin, Crue, Aerosmith, Metallica, Sabbath, etc), and I play blues, blues rock, 60's rock, grunge, and some modern rock and metal as well.