Follow us on...
Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Facebook Watch us on YouTube
Register
    Atomic Punk
    Last Online

12.17.17 @ 06:57 PM
    Liked 1,229 Times in 448 Posts

Default Garbage Man Sentenced To 30 DAYS IN JAIL For Picking Up Trash Too Early

A sanitation worker says he was thrown in jail for picking up trash too early in the morning.

The city of Sandy Springs says he violated an ordinance aimed at keeping workers from waking up residents.

The city solicitor says he's tried everything to get sanitation workers to stop coming to communities before 7 a.m. He says he’s tried fining the companies they work for, but it doesn't work; so now he's decided to haul them off to jail.

“The solicitor said it's automatic jail time. He didn't want to hear nothing I had to say. I said it's my first time,” sanitation worker Kevin McGill told WSB-TV’s Tom Jones.

The Sandy Springs ordinance says sanitation workers must haul trash between the hours of 7 in the morning to 7 in the evening.

McGill was cited for picking up trash just after 5 a.m. one morning. When he went to court, chief prosecutor Bill Riley asked the judge to sentence him to 30 days in jail.

“I was stunned. I didn't know what to think. I was shocked,” McGill said.

Riley doesn't apologize for locking up sanitation workers.

“Fines don't seem to work,” Riley said. "The only thing that seems to stop the activity is actually going to jail.”

Riley says 911 lights up when trash haulers come before 7 a.m.

McGill, who didn't have an attorney with him when he was sentenced, is serving his time on the weekend. His new attorney wonders why he's being punished.

“Give him a warning,” attorney Kimberly Bandoh said. “I mean he's the employee. He's not the employer. Sentencing him to jail is doing what?”

But Riley says he is responsible for his own truck.

“The company doesn't start that truck up. The company doesn't drive that truck down the street,” Riley said.