Favorite VH Album

VH, WACF, FW, 5150, OU812
    Favorite VH Song

Dreams/Unchained/InASR/5150
    Last Online

11.25.17 @ 04:30 AM
    Liked 298 Times in 161 Posts

Default Take Care Of Your Wrists

Hey, everyone...a few months ago, I was diagnosed with onset De Quervain syndrome in my wrists, the left one in particular. I pretty much had to stop playing guitar in Apr. Physical therapy and hot/colt/hot treatments helped.

Just want to say to all of you that it sucks when you can't do what you love because of a physical limitation. Make sure you pay attention to your wrists. Got pain in them? Get them looked at.

Look into stretches for your hands that would help prevent De Quervain's and carpal tunnel. This shit is no joke.

Anyway, I'm cleared hot to play again as of about mid-June. I only started playing yesterday and it was nice.

TAKE CARE OF YOUR WRISTS!

"The shit I read on this site." -- Dave's Dreidel (Nov 6th, 2013)

"Don't ever confuse talent with fame." -- Bob Lefsetz

"There's very little greatness in this world, but in the crucible of quality there's a special corner reserved for Van Halen." -- Bob Lefsetz

Good Enough
    Last Online

11.14.17 @ 06:38 PM
    Liked 753 Times in 498 Posts

My ex had to have his wrist fused. Luckily, the surgeon was a musician. He knew Mike played guitar so he set the wrist so that he could still play.

Favorite VH Album

VH, 1984, 5150, F.U.C.K.
    Favorite VH Song

A few of Daves, a few of Sams!
    Last Online

12.18.17 @ 02:32 PM
    Liked 6,989 Times in 5,022 Posts

Premium Member

Quote Originally Posted by Metal Marc View Post
    Hey, everyone...a few months ago, I was diagnosed with onset De Quervain syndrome in my wrists, the left one in particular. I pretty much had to stop playing guitar in Apr. Physical therapy and hot/colt/hot treatments helped.