Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
    Favorite VH Album

Fair Warning, 5150
    Favorite VH Song

Mine all Mine, Mean Street
    Last Online

11.22.16 @ 06:34 AM
    Liked 53 Times in 32 Posts

Default Is Eddie bored with Guitar playing??

I was enjoying reading several posts in the "Westwood One Interview" thread where several of you musicians were commenting on Ed's playing over the last few years and it compelled me to start this thread..

Glad Ziggysmalls brought up George, Satriani & Vai. I am not a musician, but as a big fan of Lynch & Satriani (CF), I listen to their newer stuff and my mind always goes to our hero, Ed. Wondering why he isn't active. Stretching out more??

Then I listen to Neil tear up Personal Jesus & Goin Down on Sam's new album and wonder if these guys just have more passion than Ed these days or what?

I appreciate Ed has been through allot physically & mentally over the years, but wouldn't that guitar bring him comfort? Why is he not constantly playing like those guys?

I liked ADKOT allot and appreciate the fact that he played his ass off on that tour.

However, wasn't it Ed playing Eddie (which is fine) circa 1979?

On Fire
    Last Online

04.23.17 @ 08:53 PM
    Liked 140 Times in 72 Posts

Well based on what Dave has said more recently, it does seem like Eddie, Al and Wolf jam multiple times a week. So he does play often. And I believe in another interview Eddie stated that after the 2008 tour ended the 3 of them basically started jamming for the new album.

It just seems like he's not that motivated to move quickly to produce new songs for people's consumption. Its interesting we really only have had a clean and sober Eddie for the past 5/6 years I guess. Unfortunately he's also in his 50s so maybe the drive isn't there like we would want.