Favorite VH Album

('78-'84) VH 1; ('86-'95) 5150
    Favorite VH Song

Dave- I'm The One ; Sam- 5150
    Last Online

11.17.17 @ 12:11 PM
    Liked 1,033 Times in 543 Posts

Default Floyd arm real hard to push down

Looking for some insight here. I'm trying to figure out why my Floyd is so hard to push down. It is REAL stiff and I honestly don't think I've ever felt one like this. I've been using this guitar for about two months straight while my other guitar was disassembled. Today I got my other guitar back and holy shit, the Floyd is like butter.....so easy to push it down. Exactly how I think it should be. Night and day difference.

So here are the specs on the one that's really tough:

Floyd Rose Special
    37mm big block
    strings 10-46
    3 spring tension

The one that's real easy:

Kramer licensed Floyd
    stock small block
    strings 10-46
    3 spring tension

I see the obvious difference in the block size but I can't believe this is the issue. Any ideas on what's going on here? I have to get this solved somehow.
    VH with Dave ('78-'84) - The best years....the "real" VH.
    VH with Sam ('86-'96) - Incredible era....."We have renamed this town 'New Halen!'.
    VH with Gary ('98) - Fucking disaster. WTF was that??
    VH with Wolf/Dave ('12-'15) - Amazing comeback. Smokin' album and tours.

Sinner's Swing!
    Last Online

11.25.17 @ 09:06 AM
    Liked 1,374 Times in 803 Posts

Couple things...I'm sure you totally understand how, and you adjusted the balance between your string tension by adjusting the claw. (More for those who don't know...I had this complaint often in my shop)
    My guess is it's probably the springs themselves.
    There are two distinct types of springs that you can tell apart visually.
    Chrome/nickel plated springs usually found on old Floyd equipped Kramers, and vintage trem Fender Strats.
    ...And springs which appear dull silver or more like a galvanized appearance.