Follow us on...
Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Facebook Watch us on YouTube
Register
    Last Online

12.09.17 @ 07:17 AM
    Liked 724 Times in 341 Posts

Default Amps, Pedals, and Mods

Hi guys. Been a while since I've last posted. I thought I would give you an update on some interesting gear changes I've been engaged in lately.

I've recently decided to put my electronics background to use, and modify and build some stuff. I don't know why I've never done it before.

I've been trying to take some new approaches to my tone lately, so I've been experimenting with different gear than I'm used to. Rather than trying to generate my high gain sound solely through my amp, I've taken the approach of using a medium gain amp with an overdrive out front. First, I tried the off-the-shelf pedals like the Badass '78, OCD and others. I couldn't really get excited about any of them. I decided to mod my Tubescreamer TS-9 to TS-808 specs, which was insanely easy to do. It already had the correct IC chip, so it was a simple matter of changing out 2 resistors. The result was extremely satisfying.

I decided that while my Peavey Classic 50 4x10 was a great amp, I needed to try something different. After a little research, I decided on the PRS SE 30 combo. It is a little pricey, and once you get the lead channel gain turned up past 12 o'clock, the distortion is a little "fizzy", but it has some other redeeming qualities.