Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Facebook Watch us on YouTube
Register
    Hot For Teacher
    Last Online

12.16.17 @ 06:41 PM
    Liked 238 Times in 60 Posts

Default 5150 combo amp help

Hey guys,
    total noob on amp mechanics, but I have a 5150 combo amp and I just turned it on to test out my new Malmsteen strat and the lights on the amp aren't turning on, but the tubes are glowing bright red. Pre amp tubes aren't lit. The fuse is still in tact. I can smell a faint burning smell but nothing is smoking or anything. Does anyone know what the deal is? Really thanks a lot, maybe it's time to buy a mini EVH head.
    Thanks

Good Enough
    Favorite VH Album

Balance
    Last Online

10.26.16 @ 03:37 PM
    Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Quote Originally Posted by mrbond5150 View Post
    Hey guys,
    total noob on amp mechanics, but I have a 5150 combo amp and I just turned it on to test out my new Malmsteen strat and the lights on the amp aren't turning on, but the tubes are glowing bright red. Pre amp tubes aren't lit. The fuse is still in tact. I can smell a faint burning smell but nothing is smoking or anything. Does anyone know what the deal is? Really thanks a lot, maybe it's time to buy a mini EVH head.
    Thanks
    DO NOT TURN IT ON AGAIN UNTIL YOU TAKE IT TO A TECH.

Are the tubes glowing a dark, cherry red color like this?:

The yellow/orange glow is normal in most cases -- even if it's really bright. But if the metal guts of the tube are glowing red like lava (shown above), then there is likely something wrong that needs the attention of a tech. That's called "red-plating," and if left running in that condition, it's just a (very, very short) matter of time before the tubes burn out, possibly damaging other parts of the amp, and causing an expensive fix.