Favorite VH Album

All of CVH
    Favorite VH Song

Girl Gone Bad
    Last Online

07.17.17 @ 03:27 AM
    Liked 15 Times in 6 Posts

Default ADKoT Production - Brickwalled Dynamics

Let's get this out of the way: This is not a negative thread. I love this album. Absolutely. I'm also no expert on production, mastering, or anything of the sort. I'm just a semi-informed music lover. As such, please feel free to tell me I don't know what I'm talking about. I very possibly am just wrong.

That said: The album very much appears to be brickwalled. That is, the wave form is smashed(compressed) to the point that the peaks are chopped off, leaving much to be desired in the way of dynamics.

A few informative links (The first youtube clip covers the basic point nicely if you want to skimp on the reading):

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dynamic_range_compression
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Loudness_war

Now as for data on ADKoT. The reference site I am using is The Dynamic Range Database (http://www.dr.loudness-war.info/). According to early posted results, ADKoT is smashed to a DR of 5-6 on a 20 point scale. In comparison, VHI was 11-14 and 1984 was 12-14.

Van Halen Albums DR Database: http://www.dr.loudness-war.info/inde...&search_album=

It seems these tests are run with a program called foobar2000 using the Dynamic Range Meter plugin if you'd like to try it for yourself. I'm going to give this a shot tomorrow and dig out a few older CDs for comparison.