Follow us on...
Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Facebook Watch us on YouTube
Register
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Last Online

02.13.15 @ 08:56 AM
    Liked 8 Times in 1 Post

Donor

This question has been brewing for awhile, mostly due to statements made by both Hain23X and Sir Loonsalot().

In my collecting of bootlegs it's pretty clear that no matter what the era, Van Halen stuck to a very similar setlist during any particular tour. Of course there are a few bands that vary the setlist quite a bit night to night, but Van Halen don't seem to be one of those bands. Why is that?

Not being a musician, I really have no idea why a band that has a hundred songs or more would go out and play only 25 of them for 6 months straight. And always open with the same song. Is it just a confidence thing; you know a certain song works as an opener (Unchained or Poundcake), so you just stick with it? Or is it just a matter of the grind of the road putting the band on auto-pilot to some degree, and it just becomes easier to play the songs you're so familiar with night after night?

This isn't meant to be a negative thing, just wondering.

Last Online

03.03.15 @ 08:31 PM
    Liked 2 Times in 1 Post

Donor

Could it be that they enjoy playing some songs more than others? I really don't know.

Favorite VH Album

Van Halen/Balance/5150
    Favorite VH Song

Unchained/5150/Don\'t Tell Me
    Last Online

04.29.16 @ 07:05 AM
    Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

I know Sam always talked about how the lights were "cued" a certain way for certains songs, so it was tough to change the tunes, becuase then it screws the lighting people up. Videos are made for certain songs, so they're a must.