Favorite VH Album

All of them
    Favorite VH Song

There's just too many
    Last Online

10.26.15 @ 12:38 PM
    Liked 138 Times in 79 Posts

Default Question about mixing speakers

So I'd like to replace the G12T-75's in my Marshall cab with something alot better. I have no experience myself playing through Greenbacks or Vintage 30's, but judging by the descriptions and youtube vids, they seem like my two favorites. I like the idea of having the V30's for leads, but having the Greenback's classic, warm tone for more rhythm, bluesy stuff.

Would it be best to go with all V30's or Greenbacks, or would it work to have a mix of two and two and get the "best of both worlds"? haha

Whichever one I choose (or if I go with both), I'm gonna buy the WGS versions. They're much cheaper and they still sound really good.

Any help would be much appreciated.

Good Enough
    Favorite VH Album

Balance
    Last Online

10.26.16 @ 03:37 PM
    Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Quote Originally Posted by JakeK21 View Post
    So I'd like to replace the G12T-75's in my Marshall cab with something alot better. I have no experience myself playing through Greenbacks or Vintage 30's, but judging by the descriptions and youtube vids, they seem like my two favorites. I like the idea of having the V30's for leads, but having the Greenback's classic, warm tone for more rhythm, bluesy stuff.

Would it be best to go with all V30's or Greenbacks, or would it work to have a mix of two and two and get the "best of both worlds"? haha

Whichever one I choose (or if I go with both), I'm gonna buy the WGS versions. They're much cheaper and they still sound really good.

Any help would be much appreciated.
    You can mix 2 and 2. I know of a lot of guys who mix those 2 speakers in a 4x12 cab. Just install them in an X pattern -- gives you 4 different tones while recording too. Just make sure to get all 4 in the same impedance (either get all 8 or all 16 ohm versions)