Favorite VH Album

All of them. except for III
    Favorite VH Song

Currently: Six Pack
    Last Online

09.09.13 @ 01:35 PM
    Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Default The story of my first guitar build

I've been here for a while, but I don't think I've ever told this story before.

Back in May of 2009, I was a senior in high school. Yeah, sure was a long time ago. I was a student aide/intern for my former AP Physics teacher at my high school. We had just wrapped up our AP exams, which basically meant that the rest of May was a complete fuck-off month.

A few weeks earlier we learned he was leaving our school, and sadly it wasn't on good terms. The high school had been going through a steady decline anyways, but that compounded with an incompetent administration resulted in him transferring to a magnet school elsewhere in the county.

So where does building a guitar come in to play?

Well, before he was our physics teacher, he was a monster player, playing in various bands in the late 80's/early 90's. A huge Ed, and Randy fan. That video was from our talent show that year, and he relearned eruption within a week or two, after years of being way out of practice. Back in the day, He was even offered to he lead guitarist position in Train. Apparently he taught Pat Monahan back when he lived in Erie, PA. He turned him down, because he was burned out on the music scene. I like to think that if he saw what Train's music is like today, he's probably happy about that.

Anyways, he's part of the reason I love Van Halen today, and why I play guitar. I had known him very well for four years by this point. I was really bummed out that he was leaving our school on such a sour note, so I thought of a way for him to remember our class better. That's when I decided I would build him a guitar.