Follow us on...
Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Facebook Watch us on YouTube
Register
    Sinner's Swing!
    Last Online

11.25.17 @ 09:06 AM
    Liked 1,374 Times in 803 Posts

Default General recording question

Hey guys. I'm fairly new to doing my own home studio recordings. Sleeper used to be real good at it when we'd all get together, but I'm a bit of a noob when it comes to mixing down. I just did a demo on the weekend, and everything overall sounds pretty good, but listening to the final mix in wav format on CD, it just seems to lack that pro "punch". I'm using Sleep's old Tascam DP-02 which seems quite easy to use, and has great EQ tweakability. His old console is real decent too. Again, lots of power and EQ.
    For effects I'm running a Lexicon 200 multi effects unit which I used for compression on the bass and drum tracks, and on a lead electric slide part I use a small hall reverb, and pong delay. The lead slide part is where it lacks oomph. It just kind of gets lost in the mix. On mixdown, I rolled off the highs a bit because it sounded too sizzly, and I like it where it is in the EQ range, but I'm just not getting that sharp definition that I'd like. Any tricks for this? Should I use a compressor on the lead slide tracks? (Two guitar channels in stereo panned predominently to the center right) I've heard about aural exciters, but know little about them.
    Thanks in advance.
    JJ

Sinner's Swing!
    Last Online

While I'm thinking of it, I though I should mention what I used in recording the lead slide.
    Kind of tried & true or so I'm told.

original Peavey 5150 set on normal gain with pre and post gains around 6.
    1967 Hiwatt straight cab with 30w Fanes.
    Shure SM57 (Mic placement approx 2" from edge of speaker, 1/2" away from grill cloth.