Follow us on...
Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Facebook Watch us on YouTube

Thread: Recording

Last Online

07.02.13 @ 05:38 AM
    Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Default Recording

I'm looking for an inexpensive way to make good digital recordings. My son has been playing guitar and drums now for about 3 years and he's crazy good. His creativity just amazes me. I've been playing for 25 years and it pisses me off... not really, it makes me very proud.
    Anyway, I know how much I've forgotten over the years and I want to record his stuff so that doesn't happen.
    Divebomb, Inc.
    Authorized Floyd Rose Dealer
    Authorized Seymour Duncan Dealer
    Armor Piercing Guitars, Parts, and Accessories

Favorite VH Album

Fair Warning
    Favorite VH Song

Hear about it later
    Last Online

12.03.10 @ 02:16 PM
    Liked 3 Times in 3 Posts

Well, the absolute cheapest way to make decent quality digital recording is to download Audacity; very easy to use, and has everything you could want starting out. Lot's of perameters, effects, punch in/out, duplicating tracks...the works. (Free Download designed by an online community of digital recording enthusiasts. A lot of guys on here use Audacity in the demos they've posted on the links.) For miking/amp modelling, you can go two ways. Get a USB interface, or do simply what I've done, go direct from the line in on the computer. It works just have to play with the computers internal levels a bit more than you would with the interface but once dialed in, that's it. The benefit of getting a USB interface is you have more control of the volume/headroom in the overall recording, and you often have more than one input, minimizing the times you have to repatch your gear, but not a big deal.