Register
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Franky update

On Fire
    Last Online

01.16.13 @ 12:11 AM
    Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Default Franky update

I know, I know, everyone is tired of this guitar... but some of us just can't get enough!

Add to that the fact that the thread predecessor to this one lost its pics (server problems?) and I thought how about make a new one with the update on my beloved guitar?

So, here it is:

The reason for the update is about... here.

It's a blurry pic, I know, I'm a lousy photographer... But this is what I ment:

Some fresh-from-Japan Gotoh crown tuners! These used to be black, but my good friend Yasuhiro took the time and effort to polish them into chrome for me! Now they look vintage!

While I was at it, I gave the neck a new wax treatment on the back of the neck and did this:

Unfortunately is not as precise as I'd like it to be, because I lost my patience pretty soon (it was late at night) and I though "Oh what the heck, just move on with it!" I also didn't set the wire in the neck pickup as I'm currently out of a soldering iron.

Now, this is a nice detail that I'm particularly happy with:

An old school Floyd Rose arm bushing. I installed it just out of accuracy, I like the new ones better, I think they are more efficient. This one makes a bit of noise when I finish a divebomb and release it into place. It resembles a Fender tremolo arm. But it's a matter of getting used to it, I guess.

Next, I'm thinking of updating the potentiometer. I have a CTS one, but I'm considering a Bourns, because of its low friction. I like the CTS, but it does have friction and stuff like Romeo Delight and Somebody Get me a Doctor get a bit harder... Does anyone know what kind there was on the replica? In the GW March 2007 issue, Chip said the original was a DiMarzio pot. Jimi?

Baluchitherium
    Last Online

10.01.15 @ 06:45 PM
    Liked 180 Times in 57 Posts