Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Facebook Watch us on YouTube
Register

Thread: Guitar vs Bass

Romeo Delight
    Last Online

09.21.09 @ 07:28 PM
    Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Default Guitar vs Bass

I started guitar lessons this week. Donít know if Iím going to stick with guitar, though, I may play bass instead. I donít know if my fingers are too big or what, but I canít get them to bend in a way (bend at the top part of the finger after the last knuckle) that is that allows me to just hit 1 string. I usually end up accidentally pressing on the string beneath the one Iím trying to hit. That may come with practice, or I might just play bass cause thereís less string and more room in between strings. Thoughts?

Favorite VH Album

Today...VHI
    Favorite VH Song

Panama
    Last Online

05.11.15 @ 11:56 AM
    Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Definitely a practice thing - no question. When I started playing, I thought there was no way each finger would be limited to one string, not to mention the correct string. But keep practicing and all of a sudden you'll just get it. Your brain and fingers need a chance to learn to communicate in a new way. Pursue the bass if it's something you want, not as a cop-out or a fall-back option.

Kudos on picking up the guitar, though - or bass, whichever you choose.
    Van Halen will rock your face off!

Favorite VH Album

Fair Warning
    Favorite VH Song

Hear about it later
    Last Online

12.03.10 @ 03:16 PM
    Liked 3 Times in 3 Posts

Quote Originally Posted by beachboydw View Post