Favorite VH Album

Alex, Dave, Ed and Mike
    Favorite VH Song

The songs with Ed on them
    Last Online

12.14.17 @ 10:37 AM
    Liked 18,148 Times in 8,966 Posts

TASCAM help

Let me preface this to say that I am an absolute recording noob.

But here is my problem.

When I record a bass part, unless I play it totally clean with no effects it sounds like a jumbled mess when I play back the recording.

If I want to use an effect, should I just use the programmable effects of the Tascam, should I not record directly from box to the Tascam, should I play out of my amp and use the condenser mic, is my volume just too loud, etc.

I know that is a lot of questions, but using the effects to get a nice heavy "Black Sabbath" kind of sound, it is just sounding God awful in playback, when it sounds fine live.

Let me qualify, it sounds good, my playing still sucks!
    Taylor Swift is nice to look at. Adele can sing.

Emperor Brett - "I can't believe you guys are analyzing song-by-song Van Halen III? What next, analyzing the script of Stroker Ace looking for some shred of Citizen Kane?"

David Lee Roth did the impossible. He made Van Halen better. Deal with it!

Preferred pronouns: he/him/his

Hurricane Halen - Let's all gingery touch our sword tips!!!

DONATE TO THE LINKS YA CHEAP BASTARDS!!!!

Good Enough
    Last Online

11.17.15 @ 08:56 PM
    Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

I'm not sure what you mean by "jumbled mess", but I'm going to guess your levels and/or low frequencies may be too high.

I'd suggest maybe backing off the low frequencies in record mode, check your recording levels, and try recording everything "dry" (no effects).
    You may even want to try adding a compressor/limiter inline while recording.

Once you get a good clean bass track, you can always go back and EQ it, or add effects if you want.

JMO

Favorite VH Album

Fair Warning
    Favorite VH Song

Hear about it later
    Last Online

12.03.10 @ 03:16 PM
    Liked 3 Times in 3 Posts