Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Facebook Watch us on YouTube
Register
    Hot For Teacher
    Last Online

11.30.17 @ 11:14 AM
    Liked 61 Times in 30 Posts

Donor

Default New guitar & review - HP Special

I got this off ebay a couple of weeks back but have been forgetting to take some good pictures and post a review. I don't like taking pictures with the flash on, but it's too rainy today to get any good natural light.

2007 Peavey HP Special (flat top); color is transparent margarita.

I started playing in a worship band at my church's contemporary service last year. At first, I used my Wolfgang Standrd but soon switched to my '04 American Standard Strat (the blue one below). It's been my main guitar since, which is amazing for me to say because when I was younger I hated Strats and wouldn't playing anything that didn't have humbuckers. Times change, tastes changes, and versatility is the main thing for me these days...hence the Strat. One of my favorite tones has been the #2 position on the pickup selector with a little overdrive.

Anyway, as much as I love the tonal versatility of the Strat, here lately I've been wanting something that plays smoother. I've owned the amber Wolfgang Std. for about 10 years now and since then I've had a hard time adjusting to a satin finish on neck. I had decided at first to look for an Axis Super Sport, even though I didn't like the 10" radius as much as the 15" radius on the WG ( I had an emerald green Axis but sold it two years ago).

I don't know why I didn't think to look for a reasonably priced HP at first, since the coil-taps would've satisfied my need for more tonal versatility. I ran across it late one night on ebay and grabbed it for the BIN price.

The neck has quite a bit more birdseye than the one on my Wolfgang Standard.

One small difference that makes an impact is the trem arms: the one that came with my HP has about twice as many threads (I'm assuming that both arms are the original ones).