Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Facebook Watch us on YouTube
Register
    Favorite VH Album

Fair Warning/F.U.C.K.
    Last Online

12.10.17 @ 07:25 PM
    Liked 283 Times in 151 Posts

Default Crate Blue Voodoo/Basic tube amp question

Whats up dudes. I recently purchased a Crate Blue Voodoo BV120H for insanely cheap off craigslist.org. I am new to tube amps and have never actually owned one before. First question, does this amp self bias?

Next, the amp has three 6L6c Groove Tubes. I need one more tube to power it, my question is should I definetly use another tube of the same type and brand? or could I throw any old 6l6 tube in there? I am not sure whether or not I have to use 6L6C or what, and if i can mix and match different types/brands. Any helps appreciated

Last Online

12.09.17 @ 07:17 AM
    Liked 724 Times in 341 Posts

What you need to do is take the amp to a repair shop and ask them to replace all of your tubes, and bias the amp.

Most tube amps will require a bias adjustment after you replace the power tubes. This is required because no two tubes are going to be exactly the same as far as current measurements. In order to make the tubes work together properly, small adjustments are made to the bias.

Companies like Groove Tubes sell tubes in "matched sets", which is supposed to eliminate the need for biasing, as long as you use the same model groove tube every time. I don't trust that.

As for the pre-amp tubes, they can be replaced without biasing. I always replace my pre-amp tubes all at once, even if only one goes bad. I save the ones that I take out that haven't failed yet for spares, just in case one goes microphonic on me at a gig.

Your pre-amp tubes will be 12AX7 tubes. You will find that many of these tube will have a suffix of some kind of letter. This may denote some type of grading system by the manufacturer to indicate the anticipated output of the tube.