Little Dreamer
    Favorite VH Album

Balance
    Favorite VH Song

Hear About It Later
    Last Online

07.17.10 @ 05:17 AM
    Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Default Question for AT or any of the builders here...

I'm a newbie, looking to build my own "SuperStrat" using parts from Warmoth, in the following configuration:

- Charvel CS Strat style body (not a Soloist style)
    - Birdseye Maple Neck w/ asymmetrical profile (9.5" or 10.5" radius)
    - Strat Headstock
    - Bridge PUP (DiMarzio Tone Zone; nearest I can find to my EBMM Axis)
    - Neck PUP (DiMarzio Fast Track II; love the sound of this in my Neal Schon LP)
    - 500K Ohm Volume Pot (no Tone knob...never use it...)
    - 3 Way Toggle
    - Non-Recessed Original Floyd Rose
    - Schaller Tuners

I've got a few questions:

1. A lot of the Charvel CS bodies seem to be made of Alder...I have no experience with this wood...any one know how it compares tone wise to the basswood/maple cap combo in an Axis or Wolfgang. I know it can depend on the pickups being used, but was just wondered if its "dark" sounding... If not Alder, what would your recommend?

2. I'm planning on giving the body a red and white checkerboard finish. I'd like it to have a "relic'd" look, but have it get there the old fashioned way, by playing the crap out of it...and not sealing the paint. Is this a bad idea? What spray paint would you recommend?

Thanks for your help; any and all assistance would be greatly appreciated!

Brandon
    www.tunecore.com/music/brandonkeirns

The most important pieces of musical gear are the ones you can't buy; your hands, your head, and your heart.

I can't "think" my way to a great riff, I can only "feel" it when I hear it...

Good Enough
    Favorite VH Album

Balance
    Last Online

10.26.16 @ 03:37 PM
    Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts