Follow us on...
Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Facebook Watch us on YouTube
Register
Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Romeo Delight Halen_Fanatic's Avatar
    Join Date
    05.04.04
    Location
    Calgary, Alberta
    Posts
    101
    Last Online

    03.15.11 @ 03:28 PM
    Likes
    0
    Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Guitar proccessors question!

    Is it possible to play a rack mount style processor directly into a cabinet or even an extension cab?? Or does it actually have to go through an amp head or combo first??

  2. #2
    Good Enough
    Join Date
    03.23.05
    Posts
    1,780
    Last Online

    11.17.15 @ 08:56 PM
    Likes
    0
    Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Halen_Fanatic View Post
    Is it possible to play a rack mount style processor directly into a cabinet or even an extension cab?? Or does it actually have to go through an amp head or combo first??
    A processor doesn't provide power.
    You'll need an amp.

  3. #3
    Baluchitherium
    Join Date
    09.11.06
    Age
    41
    Location
    Leicestershire, England
    Posts
    4,484
    Favorite VH Album

    VH1, VHII or Fair Warning
    Favorite VH Song

    They're all great!
    Last Online

    04.02.15 @ 07:26 AM
    Likes
    0
    Liked 5 Times in 2 Posts


    Donor

    Default

    what you will need is either a traditional guitar amp or a power amp provided your rack can be used as a pre-amp
    http://www.facebook.com/Tommywho5150

    And with that I'm off to the kitchen to make myself a lesbian omelette...LLFHS in response to one of Graeme's post's


    "The anal beads may have scarred SNIC for life. That guy is tough as fucking nails!! No normal guy could take anal beads to the head and survive! "...OLO on SNIC's near death experience at TLW

    "I'm a 45-year-old man, and I still like to wear a thong or a speedo when I go swimming.
    Not because I have a great body, it's just an easy way to make sure I have the hotel swimming pool all to myself."...Bullwinkle for quite obvious reasons!

    "Dude, the cashier gave me the creepiest sneer when he rang up my unmentionables!"...Sassy Lassy during a Facebook conversation!

  4. #4
    5150
    Join Date
    01.20.04
    Age
    42
    Location
    lexington, illinois
    Posts
    663
    Favorite VH Album

    f.u.c.k. and Balance
    Last Online

    04.02.10 @ 06:19 PM
    Likes
    0
    Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    you will need a power amp to power the effects. if you have one amp and 2 cabs already all you would need is a power amp and something like a thd hotplate or palmer to feed the effects a line level signal. many use the preamp out of there amps to feed the effects but then your not capturing the whole tone of your amp and leaving the power section out of the signal. sounds harsh to me.

  5. #5
    Romeo Delight Halen_Fanatic's Avatar
    Join Date
    05.04.04
    Location
    Calgary, Alberta
    Posts
    101
    Last Online

    03.15.11 @ 03:28 PM
    Likes
    0
    Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    awesome! thanks guys!

    I thought the rack mount processor would act as its own pre-amp!

    Good thing i checked first!! Thanks for the response guys!!

  6. #6
    5150
    Join Date
    01.20.04
    Age
    42
    Location
    lexington, illinois
    Posts
    663
    Favorite VH Album

    f.u.c.k. and Balance
    Last Online

    04.02.10 @ 06:19 PM
    Likes
    0
    Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    it will act as its own pre-amp but it has to have a power amp section to drive the speakers.

  7. #7
    Sinner's Swing! Rick S's Avatar
    Join Date
    09.29.99
    Location
    Wilmington ,Delaware
    Posts
    3,128
    Favorite VH Album

    fair warning
    Favorite VH Song

    mean street
    Last Online

    06.23.17 @ 09:49 PM
    Likes
    0
    Liked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Default

    what if the processor has no distortion settings ?

    it would just be a clean sound right ?
    www.rickshick.tumblr.com

    1love4chi

    Deftones , now and forever and only second to VH.

    Dave or Sammy ?.........pffffft Eddie.

  8. #8
    5150
    Join Date
    01.20.04
    Age
    42
    Location
    lexington, illinois
    Posts
    663
    Favorite VH Album

    f.u.c.k. and Balance
    Last Online

    04.02.10 @ 06:19 PM
    Likes
    0
    Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    correct...as long as the signal being feed to it is a clean sound. if the sound being feed to it is saturated the resulting sound will be also.

  9. #9
    5150
    Join Date
    01.20.04
    Age
    42
    Location
    lexington, illinois
    Posts
    663
    Favorite VH Album

    f.u.c.k. and Balance
    Last Online

    04.02.10 @ 06:19 PM
    Likes
    0
    Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    it would still need a power amp section.....

  10. #10
    Sinner's Swing! Bullwinkle's Avatar
    Join Date
    03.08.07
    Location
    698 Sycamore Road, San Pueblo, CA
    Posts
    2,789
    Favorite VH Album

    Sound Magazine
    Favorite VH Song

    I Think I Love You
    Last Online

    06.07.15 @ 10:30 AM
    Likes
    0
    Liked 3 Times in 2 Posts

    Default

    You could actually plug your guitar right into a speaker cabinet if you wanted to. The pickups do put out some energy, just not enough to move the speaker cone.
    (You might be able to hear something if you put your ear right on the speaker or used a stethoscope. I'll try that some day when I'm really, really bored.)
    If you plug your guitar into a preamp/effects processor, you're giving your signal a little more power. Maybe enough to push the speakers in a pair of headphones. You can plug that into a cabinet too, but you still aren't generating anough power to move the big guitar speakers.
    I haven't looked at the back of my rack in ages, and it's bolted into a big cabinet, so I'm not going to right now, but I would imagine that a preamp puts out something like half a watt of power.
    That's what a power amp is for. It takes that weak signal and boosts it up to 50 or 100 watts. Enough to wake the neighbors if you want to.

    If you get a stand-alone rack mount power amp, here's something fun to try: Plug your guitar right into the power amp, and then the amp into the speaker cabinet. You will be able to hear the "naked" sound of your guitar without any coloration from preamps or pedals. It's a great starting point from which to build your personal sound.
    You can also do this on a regular guitar amp if it has a "power amp in" input. Make sure the volume on your guitar is turned down before you play anything because it might be loud.


    I've personally done all of these things and I've never damaged any of the equipment. I'm pretty sure it's all safe to try.







    Don't read this.

  11. #11
    Hot For Teacher mike-o's Avatar
    Join Date
    12.04.07
    Location
    Virginia Beach, VA
    Posts
    263
    Last Online

    02.16.10 @ 05:23 PM
    Likes
    0
    Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    http://www.atomicamps.com/

    These are cabs that have tube poweramps in them... just add your preamp!

  12. #12
    5150
    Join Date
    01.20.04
    Age
    42
    Location
    lexington, illinois
    Posts
    663
    Favorite VH Album

    f.u.c.k. and Balance
    Last Online

    04.02.10 @ 06:19 PM
    Likes
    0
    Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    and for that price you could get a nice rack mount power amp and another 4x12 cab.

 

 

Similar Threads

  1. Question: Guitar in rehab?
    By vistadelrey in forum Main VH Discussion
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 03.29.07, 03:11 PM
  2. Question...... Guitar Kit
    By Sean Van Halen in forum Guitar Room
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02.16.03, 12:36 PM
  3. Guitar Question
    By Mean_Street in forum Guitar Room
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 03.10.02, 04:35 PM
  4. A question for all you guitar players?
    By Panama Dog in forum Guitar Room
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 12.13.01, 05:41 PM
  5. guitar question?
    By mac in forum Guitar Room
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 05.18.00, 12:44 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •