Follow us on...
Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Facebook Watch us on YouTube
Register
    Eruption
    Last Online

07.14.10 @ 09:31 AM
    Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Default Amp mic'ing tips

I've got a 5150 combo that I'm trying to record onto my computer. I'm using a Shure SM57 and I've tried positioning it differently, but I'm still getting a tone that's very dry and harsh, not smooth at all. I'm only running a Boss delay pedal in the loop, other than that it's just my Wolfgang into the 5150 and that's it, HOWEVER, I experimented with my Line 6 POD in the effects loop and I've gotten a much smoother recorded tone...but it's way too "compressed" sounding (even bypassing all effects and setting the drive as low as possible) and it also sounds like I'm losing some signal possibly. Are there any tips out there for smoothing out the amp and capturing that sound on tape? I've played guitar for almost 10 years now, but I'm pretty new to mic'ing an amp, I've always just recorded with my POD, but I like the tone of my 5150 way better obviously, and I'd like to use it when possible.

Forum Frontman
    Last Online

07.04.16 @ 08:03 PM
    Liked 6 Times in 5 Posts

A 57 has definitely been the go-to mic for amp recording, but I've been staying away from it for several years now because of that very harshness you're talking about. With high gain stuff, to me, it never really delivered enough lows, and the high mids got very "crunchy."

I've had a lot of luck running a vintage AKG 451 (it has just been re-issued) stright on the cone, about two inches back from the screen, with all my 5150s. Run through some sort of tube pre-amp, and your tone should improve significantly.

Also experiment with the EQ settings on your amp. Unfortunately what sounds good in a room does not always sound as good through a mic. If you need more/less highs, dial it in/out of the amp. Push your lows if you're using the 57, etc.

Last Online

06.11.16 @ 04:33 AM
    Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts