Follow us on...
Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Facebook Watch us on YouTube
Register
Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Mixer Problem

  1. #1
    Atomic Punk WinterlessIceness's Avatar
    Join Date
    09.03.03
    Age
    32
    Location
    Newcastle, Great North of England
    Posts
    10,095
    Last Online

    07.05.17 @ 10:26 AM
    Likes
    0
    Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts


    Donor

    Default Mixer Problem

    Alright so I've recorded all instrumental tracks for my album and when it came time to record vocals - I thought just my BR-600 multitrack wouldn't be enough, so I've decided to buy a mixer, and an AKG condenser mike in addition. So the sound is crystal clear, I love the equalizer controls on the mixer and everything.

    The problem is this - I can't record just a vocal track while sending instrumental tracks to the headphones. As far as my home recording knowledge goes here's what I get -

    A) I plug the speakers out of my laptop into mixer's CD in. I can hear intrumental track, I can hear myself singing BUT - my multitrack picks up both vocals and instumental tracks.

    B) Same connection - but now there is this "CD/tape to CONTROL" button on the mixer, that if pressed does NOT send the instrumental track to the recorder, BUT - I can't hear myself singing in the headphones. It does send the vocals track though - no problems there, but not being able to hear your voice is a huge drawback.

    Here's the link to the mixer's tech specifications - http://www.dolphinmusic.co.uk/page/s...roduct_id/8544

    and here's my setup -







    I guess it's a long shot, but I'm sure there is some way to solve this thing and I hopw someone could tell me what I'm doing wrong.
    Last edited by WinterlessIceness; 02.27.08 at 09:54 AM.

  2. #2
    Sinner's Swing! Bullwinkle's Avatar
    Join Date
    03.08.07
    Location
    698 Sycamore Road, San Pueblo, CA
    Posts
    2,789
    Favorite VH Album

    Sound Magazine
    Favorite VH Song

    I Think I Love You
    Last Online

    06.07.15 @ 10:30 AM
    Likes
    0
    Liked 2 Times in 1 Post

    Default

    I wish I could be more help, but I can say that I'm certain that there is a way to do it. Some knob or something hasn't been panned the right way, something like that. I'm not familiar with that particular setup.

    Have you tried running the music into just a regular channel on the board instead of the CD in?

    Also, where are your headphones plugged in, the mixer or the recorder?







    Don't read this.

  3. #3
    Atomic Punk chefcraig's Avatar
    Join Date
    06.01.02
    Location
    A Confederacy of Dunces
    Posts
    19,370
    Last Online

    03.07.10 @ 06:18 AM
    Likes
    0
    Liked 10 Times in 9 Posts

    Default

    Yeah like Bullwinkle said, there simply has to be a button you have not pressed that allows you to hear the vocal as you record them. The pictures are frankly too blurred for me to see if the button next to any of the level knobs (the square one) could be the problem.

    Sorry, Mish. If I had the damned thing in front of me I could probably figure it out.
    "The reasonable man adapts himself to the world; the unreasonable one persists in trying to adapt the world to himself. Therefore, all progress depends on the unreasonable man."
    George Bernard Shaw

  4. #4
    Atomic Punk WinterlessIceness's Avatar
    Join Date
    09.03.03
    Age
    32
    Location
    Newcastle, Great North of England
    Posts
    10,095
    Last Online

    07.05.17 @ 10:26 AM
    Likes
    0
    Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts


    Donor

    Default

    I haven't tried plugging the computer channel into line-in's, but I assumed that it would act the same way is if any other instruments would be used - they'd add the sound to the mix which would also appear on the recorder.

    And I plug my phones into the mixer's slot. If I use the recorder's output - they I either hear both instrumental track and vocals, or just vocals - so it's no better than what I hear thru the mixer.

    Man I'm so lost on this !

    Edited: here're clear pictures of the mixer, maybe that might help -



    Last edited by WinterlessIceness; 02.27.08 at 10:57 AM.

  5. #5
    Atomic Punk chefcraig's Avatar
    Join Date
    06.01.02
    Location
    A Confederacy of Dunces
    Posts
    19,370
    Last Online

    03.07.10 @ 06:18 AM
    Likes
    0
    Liked 10 Times in 9 Posts

    Mish, you've got the headphones running out of the mixer. Try running them out of the recorder instead. I'm not kidding, it may be that simple.
    "The reasonable man adapts himself to the world; the unreasonable one persists in trying to adapt the world to himself. Therefore, all progress depends on the unreasonable man."
    George Bernard Shaw

  6. #6
    5150
    Join Date
    09.23.00
    Location
    Louisville, KY. USA
    Posts
    593
    Favorite VH Album

    Fair Warning
    Favorite VH Song

    Hear about it Later
    Last Online

    02.21.17 @ 07:16 PM
    Likes
    13
    Liked 9 Times in 5 Posts

    Default

    Check you soundcard's settings. There should be a way to tell it to monitor what's coming out, but only record the particular channel you're singing into via the board.

  7. #7
    Good Enough SLEEPER5150's Avatar
    Join Date
    02.13.08
    Location
    Canada's West Coast
    Posts
    2,281
    Favorite VH Album

    Fair Warning
    Favorite VH Song

    Hear about it later
    Last Online

    12.03.10 @ 03:16 PM
    Likes
    0
    Liked 3 Times in 3 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by chefcraig View Post
    Mish, you've got the headphones running out of the mixer. Try running them out of the recorder instead. I'm not kidding, it may be that simple.
    It's gotta be something simple, like Chef said. Like slap your head in disbelief simple. On my old school mixer/ machines there is always a "cue" button along with a dedicated volume control so you can hear where your'e at so to speak. Is that what the CD/Tape buttons are for? I'll try to find out from my buddy who is a wizard with this stuff I'm not as familiar with this unit, but queing can be confusing especially as more tracks are added. Looking at the pics again, I'm getting confused!

  8. #8
    Good Enough SLEEPER5150's Avatar
    Join Date
    02.13.08
    Location
    Canada's West Coast
    Posts
    2,281
    Favorite VH Album

    Fair Warning
    Favorite VH Song

    Hear about it later
    Last Online

    12.03.10 @ 03:16 PM
    Likes
    0
    Liked 3 Times in 3 Posts

    Default

    My buddy took a look at your post and he thinks that you have connected everything right by your description. Some of these mixers have stereo input ring connectors on the right channel. Is this the case on your mixer? Just a question, are you using multi ring connector cables, or single instrument mono cables between machines? Just wondering if your vocals are panned hard left or right it is not being picked up thru the whole signal path if a mono cable is in the ring connector jack. Might be a long shot, but I had a similar problem with my old Akai mixer.

  9. #9
    Atomic Punk WinterlessIceness's Avatar
    Join Date
    09.03.03
    Age
    32
    Location
    Newcastle, Great North of England
    Posts
    10,095
    Last Online

    07.05.17 @ 10:26 AM
    Likes
    0
    Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts


    Donor

    Default

    Ha, I know what you mean! I have had such issues before with 1/4",1/8" cables connecting computer (stereo) with solidstate amps (obviously mono) - so I made sure I got all right transformers this time.

    My mixer and the recorder are connected with RCA cables - so that wasn't the problem. Thing is, I did eventually figure out where the problem was (sound signal from the laptop should have been sent to control room, not mix lol) - but about the next day I had my studio monitors delivered, with TWO CHANNEL IMPUTS! So I scrapped the computer/mixer bus and plugged the laptop straight into monitors, as well as all the signal chain from mixer/recorder. I have now two separate volume control knobs on the monitors which are easier to balance than running back to laptop's master fader coz you can't control CD/tape in on this mixer.


    Thanks for the replies anyway!

  10. #10
    Good Enough SLEEPER5150's Avatar
    Join Date
    02.13.08
    Location
    Canada's West Coast
    Posts
    2,281
    Favorite VH Album

    Fair Warning
    Favorite VH Song

    Hear about it later
    Last Online

    12.03.10 @ 03:16 PM
    Likes
    0
    Liked 3 Times in 3 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by WinterlessIceness View Post
    Ha, I know what you mean! I have had such issues before with 1/4",1/8" cables connecting computer (stereo) with solidstate amps (obviously mono) - so I made sure I got all right transformers this time.

    My mixer and the recorder are connected with RCA cables - so that wasn't the problem. Thing is, I did eventually figure out where the problem was (sound signal from the laptop should have been sent to control room, not mix lol) - but about the next day I had my studio monitors delivered, with TWO CHANNEL IMPUTS! So I scrapped the computer/mixer bus and plugged the laptop straight into monitors, as well as all the signal chain from mixer/recorder. I have now two separate volume control knobs on the monitors which are easier to balance than running back to laptop's master fader coz you can't control CD/tape in on this mixer.


    Thanks for the replies anyway!
    Is this mixer geared toward DJ use?

  11. #11
    Atomic Punk WinterlessIceness's Avatar
    Join Date
    09.03.03
    Age
    32
    Location
    Newcastle, Great North of England
    Posts
    10,095
    Last Online

    07.05.17 @ 10:26 AM
    Likes
    0
    Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts


    Donor

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SLEEPER5150 View Post
    Is this mixer geared toward DJ use?
    I doubt that - it certainly doesn't have an A/B fader (although I suppose you can always use stereo channel knobs to fade one tune into another). Why?

  12. #12
    Good Enough SLEEPER5150's Avatar
    Join Date
    02.13.08
    Location
    Canada's West Coast
    Posts
    2,281
    Favorite VH Album

    Fair Warning
    Favorite VH Song

    Hear about it later
    Last Online

    12.03.10 @ 03:16 PM
    Likes
    0
    Liked 3 Times in 3 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by WinterlessIceness View Post
    I doubt that - it certainly doesn't have an A/B fader (although I suppose you can always use stereo channel knobs to fade one tune into another). Why?
    I was just curious due to the fact it did'nt have a clearly labeled cue buton. I had an older small "DJ" mixer similar to this that a tenant in my building gave to me when they moved and that's exactly what it had. Stereo volume sliders, but with an amp output mute function to help que up your next track. No A/B dedicated selector.Yours is way more advanced of course. All smaller mixers however seem to multi-function some of the components to pack as much in as possible for their size.
    She looks so $#@!'n good ,so sexy and so frail....Somethin's got the bite on me, I'm goin' straight to Hell.

  13. #13
    Little Dreamer
    Join Date
    02.19.08
    Posts
    16
    Last Online

    06.09.09 @ 11:36 AM
    Likes
    0
    Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    interesting how they placed the toggle switches for ptich and tone on the opposite side of each other along with all other sound adjustments horizontally

 

 

Similar Threads

  1. Problem!
    By Agius9 in forum VHLinks Feedback & Troubleshooting
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09.05.02, 11:20 PM
  2. The Problem Now
    By Tommy in forum Main VH Discussion
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 05.16.01, 12:37 PM
  3. Problem
    By RAFTER in forum VHLinks Feedback & Troubleshooting
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 09.23.00, 08:32 PM
  4. Problem
    By RAFTER in forum VHLinks Feedback & Troubleshooting
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09.16.00, 04:25 PM
  5. What could be the problem
    By track 5 in forum VHLinks Feedback & Troubleshooting
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07.13.00, 01:21 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •