Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Favorite VH Song

Everbody Wants Some!!
    Last Online

06.24.12 @ 06:25 AM
    Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Default Guitar Lessons - How Long?

Hi Guys,

I have been playing guitar for about 10 years and took lessons for a year. The problem is that the lessons I took were from a guy at a music store and based only in TAB.

I would like to start over and learn how to read music for real and get lessons from a reputable music school. I am 38 with two kids - am I nuts? How long will it take to gain some level of competency? I am thinking at least 3 years if i am diligent in practicing.

Any advice from those who have gone through this already?

Thanks

Good Enough
    Last Online

11.17.15 @ 08:56 PM
    Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

A teacher who taught in TAB?
    Interesting ...

Your question is a tough one to answer ...
    A great deal depends on the teacher, your comprehension of music theory, and how much time you put into it.

Just be sure not to take lessons from another teacher who uses TAB.

Romeo Delight
    Favorite VH Album

Van Halen 1
    Favorite VH Song

Unchained
    Last Online

04.01.15 @ 11:03 AM
    Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

I took piano lessons for 6 years as a kid, and I can't read music any more....not like riding a bike at all. Tab is the easier way to go by a long shot. But Kudos to you if you want to tackle it.

Good Enough
    Last Online

11.17.15 @ 08:56 PM
    Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Quote Originally Posted by travas65 View Post
    I took piano lessons for 6 years as a kid, and I can't read music any more....not like riding a bike at all. Tab is the easier way to go by a long shot. But Kudos to you if you want to tackle it.
    Why anyone would recommend TAB is beyond me...
    TAB is for people who are looking for a short cut to learning a song, and most of the time, it's not even close. Why even bother?

Learn TAB and your knowledge lasts as long as a song.