5150, Balance
    Favorite VH Song

Dreams
    Last Online

10.03.13 @ 10:13 AM
    Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Default Question for Weight Lifters

I figure there's got to be a few of us here. Here's the situation:

A friend and I started lifting in December. I used lift very hard as a teen and benched over 300 lbs weighing in at 155. My routine is based on the pyramid. I basically do a quick warm-up, an 8 rep set of 165-175, a 4 rep set of 185-195, a 1-2 rep set of 200+, then a burnout at 135 (which will progressively go up) and a set of "perfect push-ups." I am big on "shocking" the muscles regularly, and that can be anywhere in the workout. I really want to get the burnout up, as I used to burnout at around 185.

Now, we have moved up very quickly in weight considering my friend has never done free weights before, and I hadn't done heavy lifting in years due to my health. So I think the fact that we are maxing out at probably 230+ after only a few months is pretty good.

Well, some guys at work started telling him that my workout is crap, and specifically that the heavy set of 1-2 reps is meaningless. Considering my own success and that I had helped train HS football years ago, I'm very confident in my routine. I have also read online that by far the best way to increase your max is to regularly to a very heavy set.

I just wanted to get some other opinions on this as maybe I'm looking at this wrong. My friend feels better than he ever has, so injury does not seem to be an issue. I'm just worried he may get confused and even lose faith in my program.

Oh, and another funny thing, the most any of the other guys bench is 220, and they weigh over 20 lbs more than I do, have been in their routines for much longer, and take "supplements" (in quotes because I am not sure what exactly they do as a friend of ours is a professional bodybuilder).

Fire away!
    Go Bills and Sabres!

We're NOT Lawyers! www.werenotlawyers.com

Favorite VH Album

Fair Warning