Van Halen/ADKOT
    Favorite VH Song

Hot For Teacher
    Last Online

12.15.17 @ 12:23 PM
    Liked 2,238 Times in 1,130 Posts

Premium Member

How do you keep your guitar in tune?

Okay, so this is the thread where I look like a moron. I have been playing guitar for over 10 years, but I've never had interest in the inner workings of the guitar or it's individual parts. Because of that, I have nowhere near the guitar IQ that all of you have when it comes to sound....I just play.

So here's my problem:

I have a Fender Squire (waits for everyone to stop laughing).....with a tremolo bar. I can't even attempt to use the tremolo because it throws everything waaaaaay out of tune. Even when I don't use it, I have a difficult time keeping it in tune after a song or two. My question is this: What techniques/gear do you use to keep it in tune.

Does the guitar itself make that much of a difference? Do you need a double locking Rose to be able to use a tremolo like Eddie (I know he didn't use a Rose on the early VH I guitars)?

I have heard everything from changing the tuners, to getting a double locking tremolo, stringing a certain way, boiling strings, oiling the nut (whatever the ef that means), to changing strings regularly.

I already know I should probably string my guitars a little better. The tuners look like barbed wire with the way it's wrapped around (maybe a slight exaggeration ).

Anybody have any suggestions?
    CNN may think my opinion matters, but you shouldn't.

Favorite VH Album

All of 'em
    Favorite VH Song

Top Jimmy/Runaround
    Last Online

08.21.17 @ 12:12 PM
    Liked 3 Times in 2 Posts

It sounds like it could be the intonation.

Most times if a guitar is like that its the intonation.

It could be the wrong gauge of strings and requires the intonation to be adjusted.

May also be the nut. Put some guitar nut graphite in there to smooth it out a bit.

Without seeing the guitar, that's all I have.

Anyone else?