Follow us on...
Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Facebook Watch us on YouTube
Register
Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Atomic Punk
    Join Date
    12.25.01
    Age
    53
    Location
    Carmel, Ca
    Posts
    7,954
    Favorite VH Album

    Fair Warning
    Favorite VH Song

    You\'re Kidding,right?
    Last Online

    05.31.14 @ 08:17 PM
    Likes
    0
    Liked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Default Tech Question: Recording From A Camcorder To Computer.

    I'm currently researching this, so I figured I'd ask you guys.

    I've got a Sony Camcorder and I want to transfer it to DVD via my computer. I figure that I need to buy special software, which I'm going to look at tomorrow. When I plug my USB into the computer it asks for a program disk, which I don't have and the dorks at Sony want me to by a direct-to-DVD recorder.

    My mission is to record stuff from Fort Ord and preserve it for veterans.

    Any advice will be a giant help.

    Thank you in advance...
    Last edited by Axxman300; 08.08.06 at 05:27 PM.
    "Nothing is ever what it seems but everything is exactly what it is." - B. Banzai


    My Blog:

    http://axxman300tool.blogspot.com/

    http://www.myspace.com/axxman300

  2. #2
    Eruption snostorm's Avatar
    Join Date
    01.05.04
    Posts
    809
    Last Online

    12.08.17 @ 02:36 PM
    Likes
    17
    Liked 5 Times in 4 Posts

    Default

    pincacle makes some good software and hardware. I would research them first. I work at best buy and they sell like hot cakes. Or you could just get a MAC

  3. #3
    Eruption
    Join Date
    03.09.04
    Age
    39
    Location
    Bloomington, IL
    Posts
    1,099
    Favorite VH Album

    5150, Balance
    Favorite VH Song

    Dreams
    Last Online

    10.03.13 @ 10:13 AM
    Likes
    0
    Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    I have actually had problems with Pinnacle, so I recommend something simple yet powerful for the money. I would look into Ulead VideoStudio. Very good for basic editing and capturing. I actually still use it for capturing, even though I have tons of programs that can capture. It always seems to give me the best results.
    Last edited by JCJanko; 08.08.06 at 07:42 PM.
    Go Bills and Sabres!

    We're NOT Lawyers! www.werenotlawyers.com

  4. #4
    Good Enough
    Join Date
    01.03.02
    Posts
    2,395
    Last Online

    12.19.16 @ 05:15 PM
    Likes
    6
    Liked 8 Times in 8 Posts


    Donor

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by snostorm
    pincacle makes some good software and hardware. I would research them first. I work at best buy and they sell like hot cakes. Or you could just get a MAC
    I removed Pinnacle's Studio Plus v10.5 just today for these reasons.

  5. #5
    Atomic Punk MikeL's Avatar
    Join Date
    02.17.00
    Posts
    11,536
    Last Online

    03.03.15 @ 08:31 PM
    Likes
    0
    Liked 2 Times in 1 Post


    Donor

    Default

    The solution depends on the camcorder format, Axx. Digital or analog?

  6. #6
    Sinner's Swing! twonabomber's Avatar
    Join Date
    10.15.01
    Location
    cleveland, oh
    Posts
    3,699
    Last Online

    12.08.16 @ 03:21 AM
    Likes
    0
    Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Ulead Video Studio is great to start out with. i started with VS7 but eventually traded up to Sony Vegas and DVD Architect.

    Pinnacle is shit, as is Roxio, Sonic, and Snappy/Dazzle. Adobe is good, but can be pricey.

    oh, yeah, as always...www.videohelp.com. start reading.
    Last edited by twonabomber; 08.08.06 at 10:05 PM.
    "is this a good show tonight, or fuckin' what?" - DLR, Montreal, 11/10/07

    Toronto 10/7...Cleveland 10/10...Toronto 10/12...Montreal 11/10

  7. #7
    Atomic Punk
    Join Date
    12.25.01
    Age
    53
    Location
    Carmel, Ca
    Posts
    7,954
    Favorite VH Album

    Fair Warning
    Favorite VH Song

    You\'re Kidding,right?
    Last Online

    05.31.14 @ 08:17 PM
    Likes
    0
    Liked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MikeL
    The solution depends on the camcorder format, Axx. Digital or analog?
    It records to a 8mm tape, it says Hi-8 digital, but I'm guessing Analog.
    "Nothing is ever what it seems but everything is exactly what it is." - B. Banzai


    My Blog:

    http://axxman300tool.blogspot.com/

    http://www.myspace.com/axxman300

  8. #8
    Eruption
    Join Date
    03.09.04
    Age
    39
    Location
    Bloomington, IL
    Posts
    1,099
    Favorite VH Album

    5150, Balance
    Favorite VH Song

    Dreams
    Last Online

    10.03.13 @ 10:13 AM
    Likes
    0
    Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Axxman300
    It records to a 8mm tape, it says Hi-8 digital, but I'm guessing Analog.
    Wow. I had written a post assuming it was analog, then erased it and placed what is there now thinking it was stupid to assume analog with today's tech. Shows how much I know...
    Go Bills and Sabres!

    We're NOT Lawyers! www.werenotlawyers.com

  9. #9
    Eruption
    Join Date
    03.09.04
    Age
    39
    Location
    Bloomington, IL
    Posts
    1,099
    Favorite VH Album

    5150, Balance
    Favorite VH Song

    Dreams
    Last Online

    10.03.13 @ 10:13 AM
    Likes
    0
    Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by twonabomber
    Ulead Video Studio is great to start out with. i started with VS7 but eventually traded up to Sony Vegas and DVD Architect.

    Pinnacle is shit, as is Roxio, Sonic, and Snappy/Dazzle. Adobe is good, but can be pricey.

    oh, yeah, as always...www.videohelp.com. start reading.
    I second all of this, especially www.videohelp.com! I still can't do a thing without checking that site first for reference.
    Go Bills and Sabres!

    We're NOT Lawyers! www.werenotlawyers.com

  10. #10
    Atomic Punk MikeL's Avatar
    Join Date
    02.17.00
    Posts
    11,536
    Last Online

    03.03.15 @ 08:31 PM
    Likes
    0
    Liked 2 Times in 1 Post


    Donor

    Default

    When you look for a video importing/editing package, make sure it works with the analog format. I've only got experience with digital stuff. Hook'em up with a Firewire cable, and let the computer control the camera. It's slick. The last time I edited analog tape was something like fifteen years ago, using a TV station's editing bay.

    If there's a public access station nearby, they might be willing to let you use their equipment. That could result in a pretty slick show.

    Otherwise you'll need something to import the video through, hardware-wise. Usually now it's a USB dongle that connects to your RCA or S-Video outputs on the camera. I haven't looked in a while, but I think the prices on a package that includes the hardware and software used to be around a hundred bucks or so.

  11. #11
    Sinner's Swing! twonabomber's Avatar
    Join Date
    10.15.01
    Location
    cleveland, oh
    Posts
    3,699
    Last Online

    12.08.16 @ 03:21 AM
    Likes
    0
    Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    some people say USB isn't fast enough, and that Firewire is the way to go.

    i've never tried a USB capture device...i have a Canopus ADC something or other that is the cat's ass. it was close to $300 but it does what i want, and does it well.
    "is this a good show tonight, or fuckin' what?" - DLR, Montreal, 11/10/07

    Toronto 10/7...Cleveland 10/10...Toronto 10/12...Montreal 11/10

  12. #12
    Atomic Punk
    Join Date
    12.25.01
    Age
    53
    Location
    Carmel, Ca
    Posts
    7,954
    Favorite VH Album

    Fair Warning
    Favorite VH Song

    You\'re Kidding,right?
    Last Online

    05.31.14 @ 08:17 PM
    Likes
    0
    Liked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Default

    The camera has a USB and an S-Video output. My computers "sees" it but doesn't know what it is.

    Oh, thanks for all of the input, like I said, I'm sure there's a program for this. I don't use the video camera all that much so it's never come up before.
    "Nothing is ever what it seems but everything is exactly what it is." - B. Banzai


    My Blog:

    http://axxman300tool.blogspot.com/

    http://www.myspace.com/axxman300

  13. #13
    Atomic Punk MikeL's Avatar
    Join Date
    02.17.00
    Posts
    11,536
    Last Online

    03.03.15 @ 08:31 PM
    Likes
    0
    Liked 2 Times in 1 Post


    Donor

    Default

    The USB port is probably for stills.

 

 

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08.10.06, 04:50 AM
  2. Stupid Question About Recording Audio To Computer
    By Axxman300 in forum VH Fans Meeting Place (Non-Music)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02.10.06, 09:43 PM
  3. Recording guitar & vocals to computer using USB port
    By yomamasofat in forum Guitar Room
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01.06.06, 02:02 PM
  4. Recording to computer?
    By digadam in forum Guitar Room
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 12.10.02, 09:27 PM
  5. Computer recording setup
    By mars in forum Guitar Room
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06.20.02, 09:43 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •