Register
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Atomic Punk
    Favorite VH Album

VHIII/WACF/OU51BALUCK
    Last Online

07.24.11 @ 04:36 PM
    Liked 1 Time in 1 Post

Default Newbie here so forgive me if I'm rehashing old topics but...

I was just wondering about something...

One of the last conversations i had with a similarly passionate VH fan was during the whole Dave's back, no he's not, Gary's in, well, not anymore period. One of the things that we heard around the rumour mill was that Ed was considering doing what Santana has since done twice, recording with various singers...at one point I heard that Sara McLachlan was someone who actually visited 5150. But, the label nixed the idea. I've always wondered how 'true' this was. Can any of you, that have obviously been more active participants in the online community, offer any insight into this?

Reason I inquire is I've always thought Ed, as songwriter, was limited in ways by his frontmen and stature. that's what had me so excited about VH III and so dissapointed by how it all played out.

Does anyone else agree with me that despite the absolutely incredible catalogue these guys have put together is simply a giant "what if?" I often view the VH albums as full of compromise. I've heard plenty of interviews (obviously taken with a grain of salt) where Ed talks about not being able to do the music the way he wanted because Dave didn't write "this" kind of lyric or Sammy wouldn't sing on "that" kind of material. One of the things that had me most excited about VHIII was reading him say that it was the first time he felt "completely free" to write whatever he wanted and that it was the first time that someone's poetry inspired him to write music, instead of writing music and then figuring out how to work Dave or Sammy in.

Would an album of Ed, Al and Mike throwing down whatever they wanted with a slew of varied and talented vocalists have been awesome or would it have been trite and silly?