Follow us on...
Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Facebook Watch us on YouTube

01.25.10 @ 11:30 PM
    Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Default Im thinking of giving guitar lessons and.....

I was wondering if anybody gives lessons on here and how they teach? I want to teach blues or blues/rock or 80s rock beginners to intermediate and and by the hour. There is a small guitar shop in town that would be perfect. Are there any do's and dont's for teachers. I have 20+ years experience playing and Id rather do this for the extra money than work at k mart for extra money. This is a no brainer. Guitar teachers speak up!

Top Of The World
    Last Online

08.06.08 @ 03:31 AM
    Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

I give lessons out of my home and have done so for almost 5 years now. Its a great source of a *little* extra income but you're wise to ask questions. I didn't know what I was getting into when someone asked me to give their kid lessons and it literally snowballed from there. I usually keep only 2 students or less at any point in time simply because I don't have the time to carry more than 2.

re: method: I originally wrote my own method but the kids never took to it. Every kid <and I should say student but most of my students are kids> is different. Most are indecisive so you need to spend almost the first 2 lessons figuring out what they want out of their lessons. Once you figure it out, you can buy a method from a local music shop or write your own. I personally never seem to have time to write my lessons so I either wing it (not a good idea) or I use a book someone else wrote.

If you can, get a method with a DVD or make your own videos for the kid. This is the BEST way for the modern student to learn. I learned by listening to recordings (speeding them down/up and learning the parts) and watching people's hands as they play. DVDs seem to be the way to go for lesson material that makes an impact.