Follow us on...
Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Facebook Watch us on YouTube
Register
Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Atomic Punk
    Join Date
    12.25.01
    Age
    53
    Location
    Carmel, Ca
    Posts
    7,954
    Favorite VH Album

    Fair Warning
    Favorite VH Song

    You\'re Kidding,right?
    Last Online

    05.31.14 @ 08:17 PM
    Likes
    0
    Liked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Default Networking Question Re: Wireless Printer Connection

    Okay here's the mission:

    Get two PC's to share a printer on a small wireless Network. The PC's don't need to talk to eachother.

    OS- MS XP

    Have D-Link wireless router and D-Link wireless Print Server.

    Back office computer is connected to D-Link router and can print from D-Link Print server.

    Front desk computer can:

    See other network

    Log on to other network

    Can go out on internet via secondary wireless connection (Hot Spot)

    Can't print, doesn't see printer.


    So, am I missing hardware? A second wireless router? USB wireless adapter?

    Or am I missing a protocol step?

    Or should I bag it and get the cables and hardwire the thang?

    I'm obviously clueless...
    "Nothing is ever what it seems but everything is exactly what it is." - B. Banzai


    My Blog:

    http://axxman300tool.blogspot.com/

    http://www.myspace.com/axxman300

  2. #2
    The Joker BradS's Avatar
    Join Date
    11.21.04
    Posts
    2,332
    Last Online

    06.10.07 @ 04:25 AM
    Likes
    0
    Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts


    Donor

    Default

    Have you tried adding the printer to the computer that doesn't see it? I mean go in and "add a printer". Also, make sure the printer is set to be shared.
    Last edited by BradS; 03.02.06 at 07:00 PM.

  3. #3
    carpe damn diem billy007's Avatar
    Join Date
    04.19.00
    Age
    54
    Location
    On the wild card line...
    Posts
    28,661
    Favorite VH Song

    "Dance The Night Away"
    Last Online

    12.10.17 @ 03:50 PM
    Likes
    1,043
    Liked 1,340 Times in 919 Posts

    Default

    Right, make sure you right click on the printer on the computer that it's attached to and go to "sharing" and make sure it's shared.

    Then on the other pc, you can right click on "My Network Places" and do a search for the pc that houses the printer. Once located, double click on the PC name and you should see the printer. Right click on the printer, and you'll get an option like "Connect" or "Add Printer" or - you'll recognise it when you see it!

  4. #4
    Atomic Punk
    Join Date
    12.25.01
    Age
    53
    Location
    Carmel, Ca
    Posts
    7,954
    Favorite VH Album

    Fair Warning
    Favorite VH Song

    You\'re Kidding,right?
    Last Online

    05.31.14 @ 08:17 PM
    Likes
    0
    Liked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Default

    Oh yeah, I've re-installed the printer on the second computer twice.

    I will try #2 now.
    "Nothing is ever what it seems but everything is exactly what it is." - B. Banzai


    My Blog:

    http://axxman300tool.blogspot.com/

    http://www.myspace.com/axxman300

  5. #5
    Hot For Teacher FAN4EVER's Avatar
    Join Date
    12.11.01
    Location
    Kansas - The Land of OZ
    Posts
    267
    Favorite VH Album

    VH1
    Last Online

    11.15.17 @ 05:12 AM
    Likes
    13
    Liked 66 Times in 35 Posts

    Default

    If all else fails you could go with a wireless enabled printer. I just put in an HP 3310. The cool thing about this is that you do not need to have the host network pc on. You simple program the printer itself to connect to your wireless network and away you go...
    It took me about 1 hour to get everything set up on the printer and software installed on both the desktop and laptop.
    Here is a link;
    http://www.shopping.hp.com/webapp/sh...ABA&catLevel=2
    Aint life grand!

  6. #6
    Atomic Punk
    Join Date
    12.25.01
    Age
    53
    Location
    Carmel, Ca
    Posts
    7,954
    Favorite VH Album

    Fair Warning
    Favorite VH Song

    You\'re Kidding,right?
    Last Online

    05.31.14 @ 08:17 PM
    Likes
    0
    Liked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Default

    This printer is an HP 3380, I'm going to have to break out the manual to see if it has wireless anything on board.

    As of now it's a no-go, it's "seeing" the other network but not connecting to it.

    I'm coming in after the fact, this is a business set-up. The problem is my boss thought MS XP Proffessional was the same as MS XP Home (which makes this kind of thing really easy). So he bought the D-Link router and loaded everything on thinking that the other computers could connect to both the printer and the internet through his computer. He should have bought a newtork server with all the wireless goodies built in, then there would be all the different tabs that I trained on available through the Pro & Server program.

    So I'm hoping to work around it all, I thought that after I got the first computer up that I was on the way.

    I'm thinking that the smarter mover is to plug #1 directly into Parrallel Port 2 on the print server and focus the wireless soleing on #2.

    (Sub-plot, my boss just had his first child and this whole thing arrose durring the latter part of the pregnancy, we didn't need a second computer. We already had a laptop we charge guests $3.00 to use, we could have just configured that to connect to a wireless hub. The thing is, we've got no space as it was before. The front desk has 3 computers networked into a main server. We've got a 4th computer for our telephone system (PBX Call accounting). 4 different external modems for the system and two in the back for our wireless. He's been flipping out about the computer not connecting to the printer and that was before the wireless print server, he's contacted a Network specialist and that's gonna be $500 bucks at the least. I'm just trying to help him out. No good deed goes unpunished.)
    "Nothing is ever what it seems but everything is exactly what it is." - B. Banzai


    My Blog:

    http://axxman300tool.blogspot.com/

    http://www.myspace.com/axxman300

  7. #7
    no stinkin click! muffdiver's Avatar
    Join Date
    05.27.02
    Location
    canada
    Posts
    7,761
    Favorite VH Album

    all
    Favorite VH Song

    strung out....
    Last Online

    02.28.14 @ 07:54 PM
    Likes
    0
    Liked 4 Times in 4 Posts


    Premium Member

    Donor

    Default

    I find fax machines to be useful.....they pretty much print want ya want,
    but just use 2 wireless with the same account,...i dunno , i'm drunk...

    you should watch more of the IT crowd....

  8. #8
    carpe damn diem billy007's Avatar
    Join Date
    04.19.00
    Age
    54
    Location
    On the wild card line...
    Posts
    28,661
    Favorite VH Song

    "Dance The Night Away"
    Last Online

    12.10.17 @ 03:50 PM
    Likes
    1,043
    Liked 1,340 Times in 919 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Axxman300
    This printer is an HP 3380, I'm going to have to break out the manual to see if it has wireless anything on board.

    As of now it's a no-go, it's "seeing" the other network but not connecting to it.

    I'm coming in after the fact, this is a business set-up. The problem is my boss thought MS XP Proffessional was the same as MS XP Home (which makes this kind of thing really easy). So he bought the D-Link router and loaded everything on thinking that the other computers could connect to both the printer and the internet through his computer. He should have bought a newtork server with all the wireless goodies built in, then there would be all the different tabs that I trained on available through the Pro & Server program.

    So I'm hoping to work around it all, I thought that after I got the first computer up that I was on the way.

    I'm thinking that the smarter mover is to plug #1 directly into Parrallel Port 2 on the print server and focus the wireless soleing on #2.

    (Sub-plot, my boss just had his first child and this whole thing arrose durring the latter part of the pregnancy, we didn't need a second computer. We already had a laptop we charge guests $3.00 to use, we could have just configured that to connect to a wireless hub. The thing is, we've got no space as it was before. The front desk has 3 computers networked into a main server. We've got a 4th computer for our telephone system (PBX Call accounting). 4 different external modems for the system and two in the back for our wireless. He's been flipping out about the computer not connecting to the printer and that was before the wireless print server, he's contacted a Network specialist and that's gonna be $500 bucks at the least. I'm just trying to help him out. No good deed goes unpunished.)
    That's weird. My home computer has XP Home Edition, and I have no problem printing to the printer attached to it from my work laptop (XP Pro) or my wife's laptop (Windows 2K). And my home computer is set to a workgroup while my work computer is set to a domain - different user names, different passwords...

  9. #9
    Atomic Punk
    Join Date
    12.25.01
    Age
    53
    Location
    Carmel, Ca
    Posts
    7,954
    Favorite VH Album

    Fair Warning
    Favorite VH Song

    You\'re Kidding,right?
    Last Online

    05.31.14 @ 08:17 PM
    Likes
    0
    Liked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Default

    There's a difference between XP Home and XP Proffessional.

    XP Home, and all the Micro Shaft OS Home additions will allow you to network up 5 computers (I think, it's been a while). The Proffessional OS won't, you need XP Pro & Server and I think you're only good for 8 to 10 computers. After that, any additional and you need to purchase additional accounts.

    It's all about the $$$$
    "Nothing is ever what it seems but everything is exactly what it is." - B. Banzai


    My Blog:

    http://axxman300tool.blogspot.com/

    http://www.myspace.com/axxman300

  10. #10
    The Joker BradS's Avatar
    Join Date
    11.21.04
    Posts
    2,332
    Last Online

    06.10.07 @ 04:25 AM
    Likes
    0
    Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts


    Donor

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Axxman300
    The Proffessional OS won't, you need XP Pro & Server and
    XP Pro does not require server as well to network more than 8 computers.

  11. #11
    Atomic Punk
    Join Date
    12.25.01
    Age
    53
    Location
    Carmel, Ca
    Posts
    7,954
    Favorite VH Album

    Fair Warning
    Favorite VH Song

    You\'re Kidding,right?
    Last Online

    05.31.14 @ 08:17 PM
    Likes
    0
    Liked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Default

    You're right. I've been reading up since that post.

    Anyway, here's the update:

    Computer#2's network connection was either installed (not by me)incorrectly or the driver was corrupted. I've down-loaded a new driver and will install.

    The D-Link router was installed incorrectly on computer#1 (by my boss), I re-installed and it works like it should.

    Tonight, after things qiet down, I'm going to see if I can get #2 to see either #1 or the D-Link router.

    The funny thing was that last night, I could see the various guest computers as they logged onto our Hot-Spot.
    "Nothing is ever what it seems but everything is exactly what it is." - B. Banzai


    My Blog:

    http://axxman300tool.blogspot.com/

    http://www.myspace.com/axxman300

  12. #12
    Hang 'Em High sickman's Avatar
    Join Date
    03.13.04
    Posts
    6,169
    Favorite VH Album

    Complete Zero
    Favorite VH Song

    Lets Get Rockin
    Last Online

    12.10.17 @ 10:00 AM
    Likes
    547
    Liked 1,861 Times in 730 Posts


    Donor

    Default

    Make sure the computer you are trying to get to print knows to look for the printer through a TCP IP port. I had the same problem and that is what fixed it. You'll have to know the IP address of the wireless print server.
    I used to jog but the ice cubes kept falling out of my glass.

  13. #13
    Atomic Punk
    Join Date
    12.25.01
    Age
    53
    Location
    Carmel, Ca
    Posts
    7,954
    Favorite VH Album

    Fair Warning
    Favorite VH Song

    You\'re Kidding,right?
    Last Online

    05.31.14 @ 08:17 PM
    Likes
    0
    Liked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Default

    Oh yeah, the print server's IP address is there on the network and the printer knows to look for it.
    "Nothing is ever what it seems but everything is exactly what it is." - B. Banzai


    My Blog:

    http://axxman300tool.blogspot.com/

    http://www.myspace.com/axxman300

 

 

Similar Threads

  1. Wireless Extension Cords
    By voivod in forum VH Fans Meeting Place (Non-Music)
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 04.04.06, 02:30 PM
  2. Printer worries
    By Bob_R in forum VH Fans Meeting Place (Non-Music)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10.30.05, 07:23 AM
  3. Wireless Systems
    By xaminer in forum Guitar Room
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07.22.02, 10:27 AM
  4. Home Networking
    By strungout in forum VH Fans Meeting Place (Non-Music)
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 01.27.02, 05:13 PM
  5. Wireless networking kicks ass!
    By MikeL in forum VH Fans Meeting Place (Non-Music)
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 09.01.01, 12:09 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •