Register
    Favorite VH Album

All 14 of 'em (best ofs too)
    Favorite VH Song

I'll Wait / Feelin'
    Last Online

12.02.17 @ 12:58 PM
    Liked 19 Times in 6 Posts

Default Thinking of picking up bass guitar, any advice?

So, for some reason I've had a craving recently to play a bass guitar. I've been playing air bass on every van halen song for about 10 years now. And of course, Mikey being my hero and all.....
    I've got my gear picked out already. The reviews on this package are very good for beginners.

I have no guitar experience at all, in fact, I'm kind of afraid that my fingers are too short to get around the neck, but we'll see.. I have limited keyboard experience, so it's not like im starting totally from scratch.
    Anyone have some starting up advice?
    "I didn't just drive a thousand goddamn miles on a motorcycle to watch some little girl prance around on stage" - Steve Morrison on if Justin Bieber performed at Sturgis Motorcycle Rally

-"I'd rather stick my junk into a freshly-slapped hornet's nest." LLFHS on banging Lindsay Lohan

Poster formerly known as Fiftyoneftfty

Last Online

02.01.07 @ 09:18 PM
    Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

I started playing bass about 5 years ago. My best advice to you is to start off
    with a real basic song like "Comfortably Numb" and progress into something like "Running With the Devil". Who can deny that intro thump to the "E" string....bump, bump, bump, bump, bump, bump.......anyways good luck and I hope you find what you were looking for!!
    "Give me some more fucking feedback Johnny"!!--DLR

Favorite VH Album

F.U.C.K.
    Favorite VH Song

judgement day/ me wise magic
    Last Online

06.12.16 @ 07:51 PM
    Liked 15 Times in 11 Posts

Donor

my suggestion is to take a lesson from sixstring. i bought a bass in 95, and he taught me a few things(actually alot) and 3 weeks later we had a band with local gigs. Bill is the man.