Favorite VH Album

Fair Warning
    Favorite VH Song

Unchained
    Last Online

12.17.17 @ 10:54 AM
    Liked 84 Times in 35 Posts

Default Home project advice from OLO.

To those of you that are going to have some project done on your home this summer please read and follow my advice. I am a General Contractor, our company is family run and has been in business for 40 years. If you are planning on spending any money on your home this year get proposals!! Get more than one, I would suggest getting three!!

Some of you are wondering why I would start a thread like this. Its not to solicit your business, its to help you not get ripped off. We don't do all types of construction, so I do not consider my self a expert on every types of construction by any means. I do however have more knowledge than the average home owner. In the past week I have been contacted by two friends that wanted advice for a friend or family member. In both of these phone calls they my friend felt the person was being taken for a ride. My main job with our company is estimating and project management. I spend the majority of my time figuring out much its going to cost OUR company to accomplish your job. After I have covered every base we decide how much of a prof fit we feel is fair to us and you. Its a very specific process, certain things cost a certain amount of money they are not up for negotiation.

Many Contractors just toss a base price out at you and leave things open ended, this is where you are going to get into trouble. Sometimes it cant be helped, in the case of dry-rot in the walls or bug infestation. the Contractor doesn't know were it starts and stops, its hard for him to give you a specific price in this case. My concern is the contractor that gives you half a bid and leaves the rest open. They don't bid every aspect of your project, but plan on doing it all. You are going to get nailed in the end.