Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Facebook Watch us on YouTube
Register
    Little Dreamer
    Last Online

07.02.06 @ 04:38 AM
    Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Default Eruption - this one lick drives me crazy

Hi,

Like a lot of VH fans, I have been studying and trying to play the eruption solo for many years, slowly improving on it as I go.

Most recently I picked up the Curt Mitchell Master series cd and that helped quite a bit. I also have his VH DVD but it doesn't cover very much of eruption.

So there is this one riff the is an ascending thing that I have seen tabbed many different ways. Some have it starting on the 18th fret of the 3rd string, others on the 14th fret of the second string.

But now matter how I play this riff it feels really awkward and it just doesn't seem to me like he would have played it that way. A lot of riffs like this when I finally get the correct fingering things just fall into place and I'm like - yeah, that's definitely it. But not this one. At least not yet.

Anybody else struggle with this riff? Anybody have a way to play it they think feels right?

Thanks in advance,
    Steve

Favorite VH Album

All of them!
    Favorite VH Song

Unchained/ Best of Both Worlds
    Last Online

04.08.16 @ 04:20 PM
    Liked 12 Times in 8 Posts

Eruption Lick...

njsteve, can you be more specific as to where this riff is? Can you give the song time it starts? The problem with Eruption is that unless you plan to play it all the time, it's not worth learning. I had it pretty well dialed at one time but if you don't continually practice it goes by the wayside! Good luck however on your goal.

Last Online

06.12.15 @ 12:43 PM
    Liked 5 Times in 4 Posts

Donor

if you are talking about the pulloff section, I see it tabbed on the wrong string ALOT. however, I find this to be the only part I dont have to relearn every few years when I decide to try and play it.

I have never got it 100 percent, as I am just to lazy