Follow us on...
Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Facebook Watch us on YouTube
Register
    Last Online

02.18.12 @ 08:59 PM
    Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Donor

Default Royalty Question

Someone recently told me that Roth made a ton of money in 2004 because VH played several of the old songs that he helped write. I am curious if anyone out there (and I'm sure there is) knows and can share how the royalties framework is typically set up. I thought Royalties were only paid on material that is released in recorded form, not on live performances.

I'm not looking to start a thread of speculation...I'd like to hear from someone who actually KNOWS how this works. Perhaps 9 is familiar with it? Brett? Anyone?
    "I write and play music for a living, I'm not a businessman. It seems like all attorneys ever do is stir up trouble. They create problems that never existed and ream you for half your money, then they try to fix what they started and nail ya for whatever money you got left. I'll tell ya, man, I don't see how these guys sleep at night." --Edward Van Halen

Last Online

04.24.10 @ 08:04 AM
    Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

I don't believe royalties are paid from playing songs live. I think that only happens when songs are broadcast, or sold (which can happen in conjunction with a live show, obviously). Dave probably made some cash from the sales of BOBW.

Last Online

08.02.10 @ 08:01 PM
    Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Royalties ARE also paid for live performances. And in a tier system for the income of a gig. VH was charging ridiculous prices for their shows, hence probably the top of the tier for payouts. Right down to the smallest clubs, royalties are paid for the performance of live material (to the 3 major mechanical rights organizations, BMI/ASCAP/SESAC, and usually in a group dispersal type payment) by the owners of the club.
    BACK FROM IRAQ!
    OIF II SEPT 17, 2004 -APR 30, 2005

Romeo Delight
    Favorite VH Album

Van Halen II
    Favorite VH Song