Follow us on...
Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Facebook Watch us on YouTube
Register
    Last Online

07.27.11 @ 07:16 PM
    Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Default Playing 16th notes

I have been playing guitar for about 10 years, as a hobby...not trying to do gigs or anything. Mostly I play rhythm or "slow" lead. I feel like I have Mick Mars syndrome: my intentions are good, but just can't pull it off 100%. I have always had trouble with playing fast and making my fingers work like I want them to. Do you guys have any resources or can point me to some good practice material? I am wanting to play stuff like the 16th notes in the final few bars of "Sultans of Swing" or even stuff like Lindsey Buckingham does in "Gypsy"...I know the answer is more practice, but I am just looking for some additional resources. Thanks for any advice.

Favorite VH Album

Fair Warning
    Favorite VH Song

Dance the Night Away
    Last Online

12.11.17 @ 04:50 PM
    Liked 4,792 Times in 2,444 Posts

Premium Member

Well with Gypsy and Sultans, they finger picked the parts. So that could be part of your problem.

I have been playing for almost 20 years and am also frustrated with the lack of progress. Of course I don't practice nearly enough but even when I do, I hit a plateau.

Its like everything else, some people have it, some people don't. I can practice 8 hours a day but I will never be Nuno Bettencourt. He has the gift. Some drummers no matter how long they play can never keep time. It just happens.

However that being said, I would go to PowerTab.net and download some lessons. Maybe go to a Guitar Center and buy a work that is supposed to increase your speed.

David Gilmour does pretty good and he does not play a lot of 16th notes. So there is hope for us people who cannot shred.

Romeo Delight
    Last Online

07.05.11 @ 05:27 AM
    Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts