Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Facebook Watch us on YouTube
Register
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Last Online

12.13.11 @ 02:09 PM
    Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Donor

Default Umpiring (home plate) is hell!

I had to umpire an 11-12 year old baseball game last night. My sons are in the league and I am a coach on my oldests' team. So the requirement this year is that all coaches must umpire 5 or 6 games depending on which level (age) your children play in.

Well, I was the home plate ump last night. It's very cool yet a thankless job. Good ole EVH Fanatic punched out a couple of kids looking at called third strikes.

This was a lopsided affair. The final score was 18-4 or something like that. I had a clicker, chest protector, chin guards and face mask. It gets hot under that face mask btw.

Anyway for you guys with sons they may want to play baseball someday and as a responsible Dad you'll have to ump.

On Fire
    Last Online

10.01.07 @ 07:13 AM
    Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Umpires, sheesh. I realize its a thankless job and whatever call you make, one team is gonna disagree. I call basketball, which is little different, but still not an easy job. The level of umpiring, at least where my son plays high school baseball and where I coach middle school, is pathetic. It seems like anyone who says "I'll call" gets to, qualified or not. There is no review process, because the same guys that suck continue to suck, year after year. I know my son and my players work their tales off to improve their game and then have to put up with guys who don't know a foul ball from a homerun (true story). I've always said this, if your strike zone is terrible, as long as its consistent for both teams, we'll adjust. If you suck, do it with authority. Don't be wimpy and change calls or give one team a "makeup call" for the one you blew last inning.

BTW, I HATE your signature.
    By the way, I'm not real good with baby-steps. My specialty is ass-kicking. -DLR

Last Online