Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Facebook Watch us on YouTube
    Favorite VH Album

Van Halen
    Favorite VH Song

to many to name
    Last Online

04.22.16 @ 09:50 PM
    Liked 3 Times in 3 Posts

Default developing speed (the next step)

My problem is kind of hard to describe.. I have been playing for about 4 years now and in the last few days I have noticed that I can play FAST. This is something that seemed to come over night and I'm just baffled at how I managed to get so much faster all at once.
    Anyhow, my problem is I really can't find a way to use this new found speed. Since I picked up the guitar I always wanted to shred and now that I can I just don't know how to incoporate it into my playing and develop a style with it. So after endless nights of sitting in a room with a metronome I don't know what to do with the speed I aquired. In other words I don't want to become "the guy who can play fast." If anyone understands or has any advice please share.

Favorite VH Album

5150, OU812, Balance, F.U.C.K
    Favorite VH Song

Dont have one
    Last Online

08.28.16 @ 10:47 PM
    Liked 18 Times in 11 Posts

I know what you are going through.

What I usually do is I try to make somethin out of the speed with different scales and stuff like that. Try some tapping and harmonics and you should be able to solo just about anything.

Im guessing you know quite a few scales since you have been playing for a while so just try to put in some blues scales. I mostly use the minor blues and I get some pretty cool solos out of that and add that with some tapping and some wammy bar tricks and you will be a shreddin machine.

BOISE STATE BRONCOS! - They're awesome. Deal with it!

11/16/04 - VAN HALEN in Boise, Idaho. Changed my life forever

8/8/06 - Sammy Hagar and the Wabos w/Michael Anthony in Boise, Idaho. Sam and Mike still kick ass

Favorite VH Album

All of em, except for III
    Favorite VH Song

Too many to name
    Last Online

07.16.12 @ 09:56 PM