Follow us on...
Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Facebook Watch us on YouTube
Register
    Romeo Delight
    Last Online

12.08.17 @ 06:54 PM
    Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Default Help...Can't play without a beer buzz...have to stop

I have always had a problem of playing gigs having to have a good beer buzz on. I've been playing for over 20 years in cover bands. When I have tried in the past to play stone cold sober, my playing was stiff and I would think to much while i was playing. I really just didn't enjoy playing at all, so I would go back to my old habit.

So, anyway I played a new years gig a few days ago...and I got busted for DUI...and now I've got to find a way to play without alcohol, or just quit playing altogether. The thought of not playing is very depressing to me.

Has anyone else had the problem of having to play lit, and had to quit, but found a way to keep playing thru some other legal vice?

Thanks!

Favorite VH Album

Fair Warning
    Favorite VH Song

Mean Street
    Last Online

07.13.17 @ 06:45 PM
    Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Donor

The last time I was in a band, I found that I sang backup vocals much better after smoking pot. It never caused any problems legally for me, I just made sure I was OK before a gig or practice was over....usually a bag of Doritos took care of that problem. No joke either, everyone though I was crazy when I told them this but it's true I swear!!!

Favorite VH Album

Favorite VH Song

I'm The One
    Last Online

12.20.07 @ 05:39 PM
    Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

I've had that problem too. I just could not play as well or enjoy it as much without catching a nice buzz first.

Push through it. It's really just a different feeling than you're used to. The more you go on stage sober, the more comfortable you'll feel. For example: You probably feel more at home now than you did playing your first gig right? Because you've gotten familliar with it. It'll only take a few shows before you find your comfort zone again.