Follow us on...
Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Facebook Watch us on YouTube
Register
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 19
  1. #1
    Baluchitherium
    Join Date
    06.10.00
    Posts
    4,228
    Last Online

    12.31.69 @ 04:00 PM
    Likes
    0
    Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Hey all,
    Since you all need a computer to be here...
    I'd like to know what kind of computer you have and what you like about it...

    I'm looking for a new computer...this one
    is going to the kids. It's a Hewlett Packard
    and it's going to "crash" soon-I've only had it for a little over a year.

    I need something with alot of memory...
    input please

  2. #2
    Baluchitherium JWS_5150's Avatar
    Join Date
    06.26.00
    Age
    33
    Location
    Charleston, SC
    Posts
    4,366
    Favorite VH Album

    Fair Warning
    Favorite VH Song

    Right Now
    Last Online

    05.18.09 @ 11:19 PM
    Likes
    0
    Liked 1 Time in 1 Post


    Donor

    I've got a Compaq Presario 5712, 64 MB RAM, 10 GB hard drive, Celeron 466 processor. It's a great machine for what I need done, very fast, pretty reliable (in my experience). Get 'em at Radio Shack. They come with lots of software and stuff.

    ------------------
    JWS_5150
    The Realm - Strange is Beautiful
    ----
    E.B.A.S.

  3. #3
    Atomic Punk MikeL's Avatar
    Join Date
    02.17.00
    Posts
    11,536
    Last Online

    03.03.15 @ 08:31 PM
    Likes
    0
    Liked 2 Times in 1 Post


    Donor

    Hey guys, am I allowed to talk about my Macs?

    I've got a G3/300 with 224MB of RAM, 13GB drive, a burner, and dual monitors. Absolutely a dream to work with.

    The second is a Powerbook 333 192/4/CD. Awsome machine! It's the most stable computer I've ever worked with. I usually go for days without shutting it down or restarting it.

    All this is hooked up through a network, with a gateway leading to the cable modem. I've got an old Micron P200 set up on it as well, but it's a hunk of junk.

    The new iMacs start at only $799 now. You can't find a better computer in that price range.

  4. #4
    Baluchitherium JWS_5150's Avatar
    Join Date
    06.26.00
    Age
    33
    Location
    Charleston, SC
    Posts
    4,366
    Favorite VH Album

    Fair Warning
    Favorite VH Song

    Right Now
    Last Online

    05.18.09 @ 11:19 PM
    Likes
    0
    Liked 1 Time in 1 Post


    Donor

    Or if she wants the fastest, most reliable way to surf the Links, she could always get one of those dual-processor Windows 2000 Professional boxes for around $3500 or so.

    iMac's a good product, very easy to use, unless you're hooked on Windows.

    ------------------
    JWS_5150
    The Realm - Strange is Beautiful
    ----
    E.B.A.S.

  5. #5
    Atomic Punk MikeL's Avatar
    Join Date
    02.17.00
    Posts
    11,536
    Last Online

    03.03.15 @ 08:31 PM
    Likes
    0
    Liked 2 Times in 1 Post


    Donor

    If you've got the cash, and don't do anything that requires a desktop, a laptop is the best way to go, I think. It's awsome to be able to go sit outside or on the couch. Much better than sitting in the same old chair all the time.

  6. #6
    Eruption
    Join Date
    04.20.00
    Age
    41
    Location
    Chicago, IL U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,044
    Favorite VH Album

    F.U.C.K.
    Favorite VH Song

    Humans Being
    Last Online

    12.31.69 @ 04:00 PM
    Likes
    0
    Liked 1 Time in 1 Post

    I built my own.

    Dual boot Windows 2000/Win98

    PIII 800mhz
    512mB ram
    40 GB HD
    32mb video ram
    19" monitor
    etc. etc.

    I always build my own - then you get exactly what you want. and you don't pay for the "name brand" then.

    Keep in mind I do a lot of graphics/web/and CD-ROM work.

    ------------------
    VHLinks.com Moderator - (VH Bootleg Network)
    My VH Collection http://www.vhvault.com/jerel/
    Webmaster of VHvault.com
    Listen to VHvault.com LSD Radio

    [This message has been edited by Jerel (edited August 05, 2000 at 03:02 PM).]

  7. #7
    Baluchitherium
    Join Date
    06.10.00
    Posts
    4,228
    Last Online

    12.31.69 @ 04:00 PM
    Likes
    0
    Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    <BLOCKQUOTE>quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Jerel:
    I built my own.

    Keep in mind I do a lot of graphics/web/and CD-ROM work.

    <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

    That would be kind of like a bad science experiment for me


  8. #8
    Eye suffacozza YEWW! Goo's Avatar
    Join Date
    01.01.00
    Age
    46
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    12,866
    Favorite VH Album

    Fair Warning
    Favorite VH Song

    Me Wise Magic
    Last Online

    12.11.17 @ 05:34 PM
    Likes
    29
    Liked 65 Times in 36 Posts


    Premium Member
    Yeh I built my own too, It's not really hard, but you do need a certain level of knowledge, not recommended for everyone.

    If you already own a PC, switching to an Imacs a problem though, all your old software can go in the bin!

    ------------------
    A little zen... Headed your way...

  9. #9
    Baluchitherium JWS_5150's Avatar
    Join Date
    06.26.00
    Age
    33
    Location
    Charleston, SC
    Posts
    4,366
    Favorite VH Album

    Fair Warning
    Favorite VH Song

    Right Now
    Last Online

    05.18.09 @ 11:19 PM
    Likes
    0
    Liked 1 Time in 1 Post


    Donor

    Goo,

    If she gets an iMac and Virtual PC, she can run Windows 98 within the Mac OS and keep her old software.

    ------------------
    JWS_5150
    The Realm - Strange is Beautiful
    ----
    E.B.A.S.

  10. #10
    Eruption ChrisTheEdHead's Avatar
    Join Date
    02.29.00
    Age
    48
    Location
    Philadelphia, PA USA
    Posts
    1,136
    Favorite VH Album

    the next one!
    Last Online

    03.11.12 @ 12:55 PM
    Likes
    0
    Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts


    Donor

    Oooooh, a Mac/PC war...Im in!

    I would suggest you go for one of the Gateway models that you can upgrade in 2 yrs. If youre not comfortable opening the PC case and installing stuff, this is a cheaper way of staying sort of current (sort of, because as soon as you buy your new PC, saomething bigger, faster, harder and wider will come out). Compaq is also a good brand; we have about 20 Compaq servers and they run great.

    But as for MINE:
    (homebuilt!!)
    PIII 600 mHz on Intel 100mHz bus motherboard
    512 MB RAM
    2 20GB SCSI hard drives
    internal 1 GB Jaz drive
    internal 100 MB Zip drive
    36x CD-ROM
    Turtle Beach soundcard
    Matrox Millenium video card w/ 8 MB RAM
    (insert Tim Taylor grunting noise here)
    ------------------
    "Look, I'll pay you for it, what the f**k?!"
    E.B.A.S!

    [This message has been edited by ChrisTheEdHead (edited August 07, 2000 at 08:37 PM).]

  11. #11
    Baluchitherium
    Join Date
    06.10.00
    Posts
    4,228
    Last Online

    12.31.69 @ 04:00 PM
    Likes
    0
    Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    <BLOCKQUOTE>quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by JWS_5150:
    dual-processor Windows 2000 Professional boxes

    hooked on Windows.

    <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

    What's this? Did that price include everything

    I am kind of hooked on windows, just because I don't know anything different.

    Someone told me about-Adell or a Dell-anyone know about this?


  12. #12
    Eye suffacozza YEWW! Goo's Avatar
    Join Date
    01.01.00
    Age
    46
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    12,866
    Favorite VH Album

    Fair Warning
    Favorite VH Song

    Me Wise Magic
    Last Online

    12.11.17 @ 05:34 PM
    Likes
    29
    Liked 65 Times in 36 Posts


    Premium Member
    quote:
    Originally posted by JWS_5150:
    Goo,

    If she gets an iMac and Virtual PC, she can run Windows 98 within the Mac OS and keep her old software.




    Virtual PC? cool - whats the deal with that, is it like an emulator, that the imacs OS runs, or is it more like those powerPC dual sytem thingums?

    (I know sweet FA bout apple's so be gentle )



    ------------------
    A little zen... Headed your way...

  13. #13
    Atomic Punk MikeL's Avatar
    Join Date
    02.17.00
    Posts
    11,536
    Last Online

    03.03.15 @ 08:31 PM
    Likes
    0
    Liked 2 Times in 1 Post


    Donor

    It's an emulator, Goo. It actually emulates PC hardware, so you can run whatever PC OS you wish on it. It's a pretty slick idea, as most emulators emulate a specific OS.

    It's not something I use everyday, but sometimes it fills a nitch. I'll be using it on my Powerbook quite a bit in the next month. I've got a bunch of Windows training sessions to give at work, and the Powerbook is one hell'uva presentation machine. I use the S-Video output to mirror everything to a regular TV screen, saving me the trouble of hauling an LCD projector to each of the sites. I fire up Virtual PC, and for all my students know the Mac appears to be a PC.

    Speed wise, it feels like it's about 1/3 as fast as the processor speed of the Mac. My 333mhz Powerbook feels pretty close to a Pentium 100 in Virtual PC. Disk access tends to be very fast, while the video is slightly slower than average. It's not something I'd like to work in everyday (it's a PC, after all ) but it's a great tool on certain occasions.

  14. #14
    Eye suffacozza YEWW! Goo's Avatar
    Join Date
    01.01.00
    Age
    46
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    12,866
    Favorite VH Album

    Fair Warning
    Favorite VH Song

    Me Wise Magic
    Last Online

    12.11.17 @ 05:34 PM
    Likes
    29
    Liked 65 Times in 36 Posts


    Premium Member
    Ok cool, I'm with it now. Emulate PC hardware? Man inagine writing that... given the uuuhhh 'variations' in PC hardware

    I remember I had an emulator on my old PC - it emulated an old Commodore 64.. It was really badly written though.. my p-133 didnt have enough grunt to run a c64 emulator! go figure! found a better written one though, and relived my childhood for an hour or 2, it was kinda fun

    ------------------
    A little zen... Headed your way...

  15. #15
    Atomic Punk MikeL's Avatar
    Join Date
    02.17.00
    Posts
    11,536
    Last Online

    03.03.15 @ 08:31 PM
    Likes
    0
    Liked 2 Times in 1 Post


    Donor

    They just picked one board and components, and went from there. So there's really no variation in hardware as far as the emulator is concerned.

    Man, I've used those C64 emulators as well. I spent many hours as a kid playing with the C64. The original Castle Wolfenstein kicked ass! None of that first-person crap. Just good gameplay. Raid Over Moscow was pretty awsome too.

 

 

Similar Threads

  1. Great White regroups as legal woes mount
    By voivod in forum VH Fans Meeting Place (Music Only)
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 12.11.06, 12:57 PM
  2. More rating's woes for Dave
    By Han Valen in forum The Diamond One
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 03.31.06, 06:14 AM
  3. I need a new computer
    By lawchick in forum VH Fans Meeting Place (Non-Music)
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 08.15.01, 06:33 AM
  4. Is it my computer?
    By track 5 in forum VHLinks Feedback & Troubleshooting
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07.13.00, 07:09 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •