Imperial Fascist Overlord Down In Flames's Avatar
    Favorite VH Album

VH II
    Favorite VH Song

D.O.A.
    Last Online

@
    Liked 3 Times in 3 Posts

Anybody catch it on Cartoon Network? This show rocks.

Bounty hunters, Mafia, guns, drugs, 'shrooms, BETA, outer space, Bruce Lee, a girl named Edward... You know, the kind of show that both you and granny can enjoy.

I'm no expert when it comes to Japanese anime, but there's something seriously appealing about this show. The characters, pace and plot are woven together really well. And the music? The show's infused with Jazz. <--- Good Jazz. No weak-assed Kenny G(ay). nonsense. I'm talking about the kind of Jazz that will inspire people who aren't fans of the genre to check it out. I've been downloading some of the songs from the show and haven't found a bad one yet. Especially the instrumentals. These sumbitches swing.

Speaking of music, it might sound strange, but the show reminds me of "Fair Warning." It's kinda dark, kinda frenetic, kinda underground. Think of the tripped-out intro to "Dirty Movies," the beautiful, building intro to "Hear About It Later," the opening bass line of "Push Comes To Shove," the pimpin' vibe of "So This Is Love?," the love-it-or-leave-it tone of "Sunday Afternoon In The Park" - throw in a handful of "Sinner's Swing" and "Unchained" attitude and there you get a sense of the fluctuating moods of the show. Or, at least I do. [img]graemlins/drunk.gif[/img]

I've caught several episodes and I'm hooked. Unlike most cartoons, this one isn't aimed at kids. There's some profundity goin' on up in here, friends. Lots of symbolism and themes to chew on. But don't let that stop the dim bulbs out there (you know who you are, and so do we) from checking it out. You'll even dig what you don't understand. It's that cool.

I'd like to think of Cowboy Bebop as Japan's redemption for fucking us over with that Pokemon fecal matter a few years ago. Arigato, baby.