Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Facebook Watch us on YouTube
Register
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Favorite VH Song

"Dance The Night Away"
    Last Online

12.14.17 @ 06:29 PM
    Liked 1,348 Times in 925 Posts

I'm not a musician, and I don't read music magazines, but I'm wondering how the music world rates Alex Van Halen among the all-time drummers. Never seem to see his name mentioned - always seems like Neil Peart, Keith Moon & John Bonham top the list, and then Tommy Lee gets a lot of mention, but I think more for his videotaped escapades than his drumming. Does Alex get overshadowed by being brother to Edward, who obviously has no problem getting mention as one of the best? Or is he just not a great drummer (except maybe to us)?

Super Duper Frontman YankeeRose's Avatar
    Favorite VH Album

OU812
    Favorite VH Song

Why Can't This Be Love
    Last Online

12.11.17 @ 05:55 PM
    Liked 197 Times in 123 Posts

I think Alex is the best drummer on the planet! [img]smilies/cool.gif[/img] I don't like any drummer half as much as him.
    Right Now you're reading my post!

I can't stand rap....people who can't sing do rap....you can sing rebellion as well as talk it....Hitler would have been in a rap band...

-- John Entwistle

2006 VHL Fantasy Hockey Champ!

Good Enough
    Favorite VH Album

Fair Warning
    Favorite VH Song

Light Up The Sky
    Last Online

04.20.05 @ 02:39 PM
    Liked 1 Time in 1 Post

No,no...Alex is exceptionally good, but you may have hit on something with the overshadow thing. And you can blame that on the fucking media.

But I must say that Alex is definitly very good in the category of rock. Overall, we don't hear about him much, but that can also be because rock or metal, for lack of a better word, is underground.

Instead we're hear about drummers like Carter Beauford (Dave Matthews), who right now are enjoying more mass appeal than rock drummers.