Follow us on...
Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Facebook Watch us on YouTube
Register
Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Atomic Punk Wolfman's Avatar
    Join Date
    05.31.00
    Location
    Lexington, KY
    Posts
    8,119
    Favorite VH Album

    Fair Warning
    Favorite VH Song

    Hear About It Later, Atomic Pu
    Last Online

    07.20.17 @ 03:43 PM
    Likes
    0
    Liked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Ok, guys - I've always done all my recording on an old Fostex 4-track and I'm starting to use the cakewalk Guitar Tracks 2 that I bought over a year ago. [img]redface.gif[/img]

    Actually, I'll be upgrading to the Pro version in a few days, but here's my question -

    Is it safe to use an input signal through an effects rack? I hate these cheesy ass effects they include with the software and don't want to add the effects in after I record. I want to be able to hear exactly what I am playing AS I record it. I figure the only problem is the signal level coming from the rack, but I don't want to damage my PC or its' sound card in the process. [img]graemlins/scared.gif[/img]

    Advice?

    [ December 28, 2002, 01:52 PM: Message edited by: Wolfman ]

  2. #2
    XTC man! homeunit's Avatar
    Join Date
    01.08.00
    Location
    Vancouver, Canada
    Posts
    4,113
    Favorite VH Album

    Cover Bands from Pasadena
    Favorite VH Song

    Babe Don't leave Me Alone
    Last Online

    09.05.15 @ 12:20 PM
    Likes
    29
    Liked 9 Times in 7 Posts

    I'll take a crack at this.

    You shoudn't have any problem with damaging your soundcard. Just make sure that when you first test out your signal that you always start at zero level with both devices and work your way up.

    I don't know if CW GT has a variable input selection feature. The problem you'll experience is with your DI signal, it'll sound like shit. I'm assuming that you're coming out of your Marshall? If you are you need some kind of speaker simulator between your amp and the soundcard, you can run your effects rack before or after it, that doesn't matter. Without a SS you'll be running line level into your soundcard so it'll sound like a $2 overdrive pedal with 100% saturation. If you're using a POD or something like that then you can get around this issue very easily.

    If you are using your Marshall either mic your cab or get a SS.
    My Band
    Baluchitherium

  3. #3
    Atomic Punk Wolfman's Avatar
    Join Date
    05.31.00
    Location
    Lexington, KY
    Posts
    8,119
    Favorite VH Album

    Fair Warning
    Favorite VH Song

    Hear About It Later, Atomic Pu
    Last Online

    07.20.17 @ 03:43 PM
    Likes
    0
    Liked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Thanks for the input, unit. Nah, no amp involved. Just the Marshall preamp in my rack, which has variable outputs of +4db, -10db, and -20db. What do you think I should switch that to?

    I suppose I could just mic the cab on the amp and run the mic line into the PC's input, but I had the same worries about signal level. But I guess if they say you can run a mic in for vocals, the line level would be the same . Duh. [img]redface.gif[/img]

    For that matter, I still have to replace my SM57 that was stolen a few years ago.

  4. #4
    XTC man! homeunit's Avatar
    Join Date
    01.08.00
    Location
    Vancouver, Canada
    Posts
    4,113
    Favorite VH Album

    Cover Bands from Pasadena
    Favorite VH Song

    Babe Don't leave Me Alone
    Last Online

    09.05.15 @ 12:20 PM
    Likes
    29
    Liked 9 Times in 7 Posts

    -10db [img]graemlins/thumb.gif[/img]
    My Band
    Baluchitherium

 

 

Similar Threads

  1. CakeWalk Studio ?
    By VanHalen5150 in forum Guitar Room
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02.12.03, 04:47 PM
  2. Cakewalk Guitar Tracks Pro
    By Jason in forum Guitar Room
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 12.12.01, 12:58 PM
  3. Cakewalk software
    By Wolfman in forum Guitar Room
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02.19.01, 01:34 PM
  4. Cakewalk
    By m4rk0 in forum Guitar Room
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01.28.01, 02:45 PM
  5. Anybody use Cakewalk?
    By paradiddle in forum Guitar Room
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 05.19.00, 05:31 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •