Follow us on...
Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Facebook Watch us on YouTube
Register
    Top Of The World
    Last Online

12.11.17 @ 08:28 PM
    Liked 32 Times in 4 Posts

Ok how is it done guys (yes I'm new to this!!). Got a guitar, got a new amp with a DI Out (big plug hole). What do I need to do in simplest terms to record a file to my computer - ie cords, software (any free stuff available) etc. Just want to record little riffs I come up with.
    Her T-shirt ended early and her hot pants started late

Hot For Teacher
    Favorite VH Album

Fair Warning
    Favorite VH Song

Currently - Me Wise Magic
    Last Online

12.28.12 @ 10:39 AM
    Liked 1 Time in 1 Post

Hi there,

Well, you could try the route that I have followed so far. Please note, I am way off being the world's best recording artist - I have only been farting about with it myself for a month (check out my site).

I'm assuming that you have Windows as your Operating System on your P.C. ?

Well, what I did was use the Windows Recorder first, just to see that I could get a signal into the computer. I started up the Windows Sound Recorder (Start->Programs->Accessories->Multimedia->Sound Recorder). This is what I used to record.

Now I'm also assuming that you have a sound card with a line in input in there. Now, this input is going to be too small to fit your guitar jack into. What I've got is a cable that has both ends the same size as the line in to the sound card input. Then, on one end, I have one of those connectors that changes it from the small connector to the guitar jack sized connector (it's a little piece of hardware, about 1" long that just fits over the end of the existing connector).

Then, I plug a lead into my guitar and connect into the input onto my amp. Then I plug my wire with the adaptor connector on the end into the line out on my amp (I'm assuming that your amp has a line out as well). Then I connect the other end of the cable into the soundcard.