Thread: Improving speed

Favorite VH Album

Balance
    Favorite VH Song

Mine All Mine
    Last Online

12.31.69 @ 04:00 PM
    Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Whats the best way to improve you speed. I've been playing for about two years now and I'm just now getting into playing real fast and I figured you boys could give me some quality advice. I know it takes a lot of fucking practice

Favorite VH Album

Cover Bands from Pasadena
    Favorite VH Song

Babe Don't leave Me Alone
    Last Online

09.05.15 @ 12:20 PM
    Liked 9 Times in 7 Posts

Practice! lol

Chromatics are great for getting the fingers into shape.

Alternate picking, (up/down).

String skipping.

All these types of things will get your hands into shape, (start SLOW, and get good SLOW first),but the biggest thing you need to pay attention to is what your playing.

You need to know your scales licks, whatever so well that you don't have think about it. If you have to think about you end up stumbling all over the place.

I've found some useful things that help me.

1) Inversions
    2) Arpeggios
    3) 6 note octave runs
    4) ***Picturing the neck from the first frett, to the 21 (or whatever). When learning scales etc, a lot of guys learn boxes which while useful, are somewhat limiting. Get out of the box!!

Try starting your runs on the 3rd, and build it linearlly from there. Connect all the boxes so you can jump around without using the standard shit.

and..............

PRACTICE, PRACTICE, PRACTICE
    My Band
    Baluchitherium

Good Enough
    Favorite VH Album

Carnal Knowledge
    Last Online

03.30.13 @ 09:28 AM
    Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Boy, you're gonna get a lot of different opinions on this one...lol