Follow us on...
Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Facebook Watch us on YouTube
Register
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16
  1. #1
    Unchained
    Join Date
    07.14.02
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    432
    Favorite VH Album

    VH I
    Favorite VH Song

    I\'m The One
    Last Online

    05.01.13 @ 03:09 PM
    Likes
    0
    Liked 1 Time in 1 Post

    I'm considering buying a BBE Sonic Maximizer for my 5150 120 watt head as I hear they help add fullness to the sound and really make the 5150 sound 100% better.

    My question(s) is... have you tried this and has it helped? If so, what model would you recommend? I understand you would run it through the effects loop, is this how you've used it?

    For $100 bucks ($50 used) I think it’s worth a try. [img]graemlins/thumb.gif[/img]

    Thanks for your help.

  2. #2
    Eruption Onirb's Avatar
    Join Date
    04.16.02
    Age
    48
    Location
    Oviedo,Fl
    Posts
    943
    Favorite VH Album

    Fair Warning
    Last Online

    12.14.17 @ 05:17 PM
    Likes
    17
    Liked 69 Times in 28 Posts


    Donor

    I think on this subject you will get variuos opinions. I have a 362 model for my 5150II running through my effects loop. I like it. It has 2 knobs one for the highs and one for the lows. It has brought out the highs nicely. Sam Ash was selling them last week for $79 now they are not even listing them right now.

    [ January 07, 2003, 06:21 AM: Message edited by: Onirb ]

  3. #3
    Romeo Delight
    Join Date
    01.02.03
    Age
    45
    Location
    Ottawa, Ontario
    Posts
    67
    Favorite VH Album

    First 6
    Last Online

    12.31.69 @ 04:00 PM
    Likes
    0
    Liked 1 Time in 1 Post

    I have a 5150 head and cab. What exactly would the BBE do for me?

    Don't get me wrong, I love the tone I get, but I'm always searchin for something a little better.

  4. #4
    Emperor of VHLinks.com Brett's Avatar
    Join Date
    09.02.99
    Age
    46
    Location
    Somewhere Near LA
    Posts
    68,722
    Favorite VH Album

    Fair Warning
    Favorite VH Song

    Unchained
    Last Online

    12.16.17 @ 01:49 AM
    Likes
    1,264
    Liked 11,581 Times in 4,936 Posts

    I have a 262 model and run it through my effects loop. I love it, really cleans up the distortion and makes it tighter.
    Webmaster
    VHLinks.com - Your Van Halen Internet Resource Guide
    http://www.vhlinks.com

    JamToThis.com
    Audio/Video Trading Community
    Tons of Van Halen!

  5. #5
    Atomic Punk Wolfman's Avatar
    Join Date
    05.31.00
    Location
    Lexington, KY
    Posts
    8,119
    Favorite VH Album

    Fair Warning
    Favorite VH Song

    Hear About It Later, Atomic Pu
    Last Online

    07.20.17 @ 03:43 PM
    Likes
    0
    Liked 1 Time in 1 Post

    I used to use a BBE 401 in my rig, and I loved the way it cleaned things up, just the way Brett says. Thing is, once I got a multi-effects unit, it had an expander/gate included and my BBE became extra stuff just sitting in the rack. They do wonders for your attack though.

  6. #6
    Top Of The World Halenizer's Avatar
    Join Date
    12.22.01
    Location
    Simpsonville SC
    Posts
    202
    Favorite VH Album

    Van Halen 1
    Favorite VH Song

    I'm the One
    Last Online

    07.08.15 @ 12:21 PM
    Likes
    0
    Liked 10 Times in 1 Post

    Originally posted by MOJODOJO:
    I'm considering buying a BBE Sonic Maximizer for my 5150 120 watt head as I hear they help add fullness to the sound and really make the 5150 sound 100% better.

    My question(s) is... have you tried this and has it helped? If so, what model would you recommend? I understand you would run it through the effects loop, is this how you've used it?

    For $100 bucks ($50 used) I think it’s worth a try. [img]graemlins/thumb.gif[/img]

    Thanks for your help.
    BUY IT!!!! I have one ....You'll love it. Don't run it through the effects loop.... go from the speaker output on the 5150 head to the input the sonic maximizer and then go to the cabinet. Makes a world of difference.
    "Who would ever believe a little dutch boy could create such a ruccous"

    - Eddie Van Halen


    Check out my band "Modern Relic" on youtube and Facebook

  7. #7
    Emperor of VHLinks.com Brett's Avatar
    Join Date
    09.02.99
    Age
    46
    Location
    Somewhere Near LA
    Posts
    68,722
    Favorite VH Album

    Fair Warning
    Favorite VH Song

    Unchained
    Last Online

    12.16.17 @ 01:49 AM
    Likes
    1,264
    Liked 11,581 Times in 4,936 Posts

    Never tried to run it through the cab, have to try that.
    Webmaster
    VHLinks.com - Your Van Halen Internet Resource Guide
    http://www.vhlinks.com

    JamToThis.com
    Audio/Video Trading Community
    Tons of Van Halen!

  8. #8
    Top Of The World Halenizer's Avatar
    Join Date
    12.22.01
    Location
    Simpsonville SC
    Posts
    202
    Favorite VH Album

    Van Halen 1
    Favorite VH Song

    I'm the One
    Last Online

    07.08.15 @ 12:21 PM
    Likes
    0
    Liked 10 Times in 1 Post

    Originally posted by Brett:
    Never tried to run it through the cab, have to try that.
    I have a BBE 382 sonic maximizer and it shows how to conncet it that way. When i first got it, i ran it thru the effects loop. When i connected it the other way...WOW...what a difference....also change all my patch cable with 16 guage cable (got the tip from Dan Huff) give a slight fatter sound.


    My rig consist of 2 Vintage Marshall Cabs, Marshall power amp, JMP 1 Rocktron Intelifex, BBE 382 Sonic Maximizer, MXR phase 90, MXR Flanger, Line 6 Moduler(Blue) Pedal, Dunlop Crybaby, 2 Wolfgang Flametop Specials and 1 EVH Musicman guitar.
    "Who would ever believe a little dutch boy could create such a ruccous"

    - Eddie Van Halen


    Check out my band "Modern Relic" on youtube and Facebook

  9. #9
    Top Of The World mookie5's Avatar
    Join Date
    12.29.02
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    217
    Favorite VH Album

    All of em
    Favorite VH Song

    Romeo Delight
    Last Online

    01.26.17 @ 01:53 PM
    Likes
    0
    Liked 14 Times in 6 Posts

    [QUOTE]Originally posted by pardo:
    [QB]I have a 5150 head and cab. What exactly would the BBE do for me?

    My understanding is that the device works as a frequency time alignment tool. That is to say that it encourages all of the frequencies being reproduced from the guitar speaker cab to arrive at the same sound arrival point at the same time. Lower frequency sounds take longer to travel distances than higher frequency sounds hence the thin muted sound you hear when you disable the unit after playing for a little while. The effect is subtle but after you use it, you won`t want to be without it.

    I have 2. One in the guitar rack and one in the PA rack.

    Mook

  10. #10
    Unchained
    Join Date
    07.14.02
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    432
    Favorite VH Album

    VH I
    Favorite VH Song

    I\'m The One
    Last Online

    05.01.13 @ 03:09 PM
    Likes
    0
    Liked 1 Time in 1 Post

    When you connect it through the speaker cabinet, rather than the effects loop, do you use speaker cables?

    Thanks for everyone's input.

  11. #11
    Top Of The World Halenizer's Avatar
    Join Date
    12.22.01
    Location
    Simpsonville SC
    Posts
    202
    Favorite VH Album

    Van Halen 1
    Favorite VH Song

    I'm the One
    Last Online

    07.08.15 @ 12:21 PM
    Likes
    0
    Liked 10 Times in 1 Post

    Originally posted by MOJODOJO:
    When you connect it through the speaker cabinet, rather than the effects loop, do you use speaker cables?

    Thanks for everyone's input.
    Yes, It like a filter between you head and speaker cabinet. Radio Stations use these all the time. Have you ever noticed how much fuller a song sounds on the radio than your stereo at home.
    "Who would ever believe a little dutch boy could create such a ruccous"

    - Eddie Van Halen


    Check out my band "Modern Relic" on youtube and Facebook

  12. #12
    Top Of The World mookie5's Avatar
    Join Date
    12.29.02
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    217
    Favorite VH Album

    All of em
    Favorite VH Song

    Romeo Delight
    Last Online

    01.26.17 @ 01:53 PM
    Likes
    0
    Liked 14 Times in 6 Posts

    Don`t connect it between the head and cab. run it either in line between the guitar and the input on the amp or in the effects loop. send from the amp to the input on the device and return to the amp from the output on the device.

  13. #13
    Unchained
    Join Date
    07.14.02
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    432
    Favorite VH Album

    VH I
    Favorite VH Song

    I\'m The One
    Last Online

    05.01.13 @ 03:09 PM
    Likes
    0
    Liked 1 Time in 1 Post

    I picked-up a 362 at Guitar Center yesterday for $68.70. I'm going to try all of the different ways discussed in this thread in hooking it up.

    I'll let you know what I find as the best approach.

    Does anyone have any suggestions on where the processor and contour controls should be set at?

    Thank you for all your help! [img]graemlins/thumb.gif[/img]

  14. #14
    Romeo Delight
    Join Date
    05.01.02
    Age
    57
    Posts
    71
    Favorite VH Album

    VH 1
    Last Online

    12.31.69 @ 04:00 PM
    Likes
    0
    Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    When I first saw the suggestion to connect the BBE between the amp and cabinet in this thread, I questioned it.
    I have never heard of connecting one this way and everything I know about electronics told me it was a bad idea. Then someone said that the manual said you could, and I figured "ok, BBE has added some features I didn't know about".

    I finally downloaded the manual for the 362, and NOWHERE did I see that you could connect this device to the speaker output of an amplifier. In fact, the manual states that the BBE is designed to work in -10bBu line input levels. That equals about .316 Volts (dc). The output of a 5150 is going to be 10-25 Volts (ac) depending upon how loud you play.

    This is a dangerous mismatch in and of itself. You probably hear a difference due to clipping the crap out of the input of the BBE, but you are headed for disaster if you continue to do this.

    Connecting the output of any amplifier, particularly a tube amp, to anything but a speaker (or the equilivalent) is bad for the amplifier and the device you have it connected to. The amp will see a serious impedance mismatch (which is bad for the tubes and output tranny at best), and the BBE's input will be overloaded to the point that it will eventually fry.

    Do NOT connect the BBE this way.
    You are about to let all of the smoke out of your amplifier(s), and they won't work without the smoke.
    You may "get away" with this for awhile, but sooner or later (probably sooner) you are headed for a meltdown.

    [ January 15, 2003, 02:14 PM: Message edited by: rcrimm ]
    Roger C

  15. #15
    Sinner's Swing!
    Join Date
    06.28.02
    Age
    42
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    2,945
    Last Online

    12.14.17 @ 08:00 PM
    Likes
    288
    Liked 20 Times in 16 Posts

    My eyeballs almost popped out of my head when I first read that suggestion , but then I thought, "....well, maybe there's some conditioned/attenuated/whatever input & outputs on the newer models, or something." [img]graemlins/wtf.gif[/img]

    I would no more put the BBE between a head & cab, than I would an effects pedal. You guys are aware that you're headed for disaster if you connect a pedal between an amp and a cab, right? Not without more equipment in between, such as something that steals a line-level signal maybe and splits it off to an effects rack, like vintage Edward.

 

 

Similar Threads

  1. Sonic Youth
    By hellohawk in forum VH Fans Meeting Place (Music Only)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03.02.15, 08:08 PM
  2. Sonic Teenager Deterrent - a new weapon
    By Phatie in forum VH Fans Meeting Place (Non-Music)
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 02.15.06, 04:26 PM
  3. BBE Sonic Maximizer
    By around2k5150 in forum Guitar Room
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 12.23.05, 02:32 PM
  4. bbe sonic maximizer 362?
    By Rick S in forum Guitar Room
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02.14.03, 10:38 PM
  5. Sonic Maximizer
    By TheCaboKid in forum Guitar Room
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 11.16.02, 12:02 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •